Acts of KindnesssteemCreated with Sketch.

image

When I first saw the post from @rebeccaryan and @natureofbeing about sharing stories of acts of kindness, I couldn't help but to think of my dear friend @rebeccaryan and her recent act of kindness by gifting me several nice essential oils. Rebecca is a true and unique gem that deserves more credit and recognition than what she usually gets on her posts. She mailed me these very nice products from another country without expecting anything in return. Here is the video I made of the unboxing if you're interested.

Also when I read this post, I instantly felt inclined to go out and do something special for someone. I immediately knew who and what I wanted to do! There is a little elderly lady that lives not too far from me. She is in her 90's and is the sweetest thing you've ever saw. I have a soft spot in my heart for the elderly and especially this lady because she reminds me of my late grandmother.

When I was working active as a patrol sergeant, I would stop at her house every day when I checked on for duty just to make sure she was okay. She was actually a victim of a home invasion a few years ago. She is confined to a wheelchair and lives alone and is becoming very fragile at this stage in her life.

So I decided that I would surprise her with a visit and a gift today. She always LOVES company to talk to! My wife and I put together this nice gift basket and a gift card for groceries for her. When I went to her house to give it to her, I was actually disappointed because she wasn't there. I was really bummed because I was planning on leaving town the next day and didn't know when I would get another chance to see her. She doesn't leave her house often so I was kind of worried about her welfare also.

image

image

Just as I was about to leave, her son pulled in to the driveway with her in the car. The timing was perfect! She was really excited that I had stopped by and loved her gift. Her and her son had been out for a ride enjoying the day. This absolutely made me feel great and made my day, I love this lady! I'm thankful to be surrounded by so many special people, near and far!
image

Sort:  

This is beautiful @bluelightbandit! Thank you so much for going out of your way on such short notice with limited time. You definitely went above and beyond to make this Lady feel appreciated, loved and above all else not forgotten. Well done! We are the company that we keep and I think that I am exceptionally fortunate to call you my friend. :)

I was indeed short on time but it all worked out and I'm thankful I was able to catch her at home. Thank you for your comments! Loving Canada btw!

Thank you for your beautiful actions, and for sharing it with us so we all can smile, and know there are still good people on this Earth. <3

Thanks for your support on this @lyndsaybowes! I know that this is something that is right up your alley and is the type of caring action that you are teaching your own kids, to engage in.
It's heartwarming. Thanks for your upvote and comment. I am fortunate to call you a friend too. :)
I count my blessings every day. Love to you and yours.

Awww!! So much love we send to you and yours too!!!

Thank you for your reply, it really means a lot to me!

You're very welcome, you really made my night happy yesterday.

The elderly really appreciate any attention they receive. Very often they live a lonely existence. By making time your have made an old lady feel very special. Kudos to you for making the effort.

Thank you for your response. It's very sad for me to think of it that way with them being lonely, but I think thats why I am who I am and why I have a soft spot for the elderly.

Awesome man. You are definitely one of the good ones!

Thanks man, I really appreciate it!

You are such a softie! That is one of the reason’s I love to read your posts. Pay it forward my friend. Such a nice gift for your friend and neighbor. Thank you rebeca for starting the chain. Be well my friend.

Hey, don't say that so loud! I'm only like a big teddy bear sometimes, not all of the time. I got a bad boy reputation to uphold too so lets keep this softie stuff on the DL, please...

Hey you gun slinging bandito. Sorry I blew your cover. I know you wear many hats, but I didn’t think you would get so upset about it!

This is a lovely story and what made me smile the most while reading is how effusively you love your friend! So glad you got to deliver your gift in person - I agree that this is much more satisfying when you can see the person's reaction. Thanks for raising my spirits with your story!

I'm really glad that you enjoyed this story and your spirits were lifted by it! I was very much attached to my grandmother, unlike no other person in the world. When she died, it destroyed me on the inside and it took a lot of strength just to keep moving forward.

This lady really makes me think of her and I get emotional every time I'm around her. Right before I left her house, I asked her if I could take a picture with her. I was getting choked up just by asking the question for crying out loud. You can see in the photo with the two if us in it that my eyes are teared up. It was rather embarassing but she understands.

Tears are a good thing in my book of life and so is love. I think that one of the main purposes to our lives is to feel as much as possible. The more we feel, the deeper our experience of everything is, so cheers to tears or whatever evidence comes forth from the courage to feel - the bad, the good and the ugly, all of it!

I've always felt sorry that I didn't know either of my sets of grandparents very well. My parents are immigrants so all extended family was across an ocean, and they all died before I was old enough to have chosen to really get to know them. For me friends of all ages have become this extended family and I'm thankful for the richness of these relationships in my life.

Greetings to you my friend@bluelightbandit
The most beautiful in the post
The look of that old female in that picture can revive his life
Greetings to you for your interest in them and stop next to her and give her this beautiful gift
I would also like to thank my dear friend @rebeccaryan
To participate in this kind of pampering, exquisite and truly noble publications
Greetings to all of you
Greetings @bluelightbandit
Greetings @rebeccaryan
@walidsalah

Thank you @walidsalah for your response! It was my pleasure to have spent time with this lady and given her the gift.

So happy to see this post. You are really a compassionate being @bluelightbandit. You did a wonderful thing for this kind woman and I'm so happy you touched her heart. Love and light for you.

Thank you for taking the time to read it and reply and also the kind words :)

You are such a sweetie!! It's hard to imagine you busting down doors in riot gear after helping baby chicks and old ladies and just being such a lovely person. You are a Hero Bandit! A protector! Peace bro :-)

Thank you, Owen. I get that a lot believe it or not lol. I can be intimidating and do business when I have to but I have a pretty big heart, especially for the elderly and animals.

@bluelightbandit
That gets a star from me for you. I don't know what you will get in the entries. But to me. This has to be one of the better ones.
Remember. I am old. Just not wheelchair bound yet.

Francis

Thanks Francis! To be honest, I haven't even thought about the standings or the contest. I left for Canada right after I visited my little elderly friend here. I'm still up here and I have to watch how much data I use so I havent been surfing around much on here but I look forward to reading all the other posts soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60510.42
ETH 2615.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60