Interview to a Thai "Ladyboy"

in #thailand8 years ago


In Thailand, there is a kind of culture that makes the country to have one of the highest number of "ladyboys". Many Thais feel woman, and is a feeling that without knowing why, it is becoming more prevalent in this society.


This time, we interviewed a witness who lives in first person the  social change that is experiencing Thailand in the last decade.


How would you like to be called?
- My name is Natchanan, but I was called Athachai before, it was a boy's  name and I changed it.


When did you start to feel like a girl? Did you have many problems in the beginning?
- I started to feel like a girl at the high school, but I was still dressing as a boy. There were no problems of acceptance by friends, good friends are always during the worst moments, some guys bothered me, but  nothing serious.


How is the relationship with your parents?
- At first my parents did not accept me feeling like a woman, but in the end, they accepted me for who I am and now we have a normal relationship.


What do you think of the general acceptance of Thai society to these issues?
- I'd rather not comment...

What is the worst thing that happened to you related to your sexuality?
- Nothing serious, so far the worst that some people have called me is  Krathoey, which means something like "third gender" in Thai.


Have you received any type of surgery related to your sex change?
- Not yet. In the future I have plans for a full official gender change. If I could choose, I would have been born girl, of course.


Related to your name change, you have been a major legal problem?
- My name is Natchanan, legally, however many times have bureaucratic problems.


You are entering the realm of curiosity and since my ignorance, when you go to a public bath, you go to women or men? Have you had any embarrassing situation?
- I usually use the ladies room and I'm not ashamed, it is quite common to see situations like mine in Thailand.

Going back to your past, how do you remember your school years?
- At school, to wear uniform was mandatory. Here all colleges and universities are forced to wear a uniform. When I went to school I was wearing boy's uniform, it was later in college that I could start wearing uniform skirt or girl.


Although you had few problems as you mention me, have you ever you  have been forced to take drugs or you have taken for some reason?
- Yes, I have taken drugs, but it was never something to do with my sexuality, I have taken out of pure stress.


Have you ever had a partner? How do you see your future, you want a family?
- Yes, I had a boyfriend with whom I spent a year, however, it is  difficult to find someone special or accept you as you are, and in my  case.
- Like everyone else I suppose, I want a family, but I do not plan to be a mother. I am happy with my life and I am not miss anything.

To finish the interview, I would like you to give an advice to our readers.
-  I would advise people to be what they want to be, who do not follow  conditions or masses who believe in them, being yourself is what really  makes you happy and gives you freedom. Do  not hide your social pressure for because at the end of your life, you  will realize that you lived've cheated and not exploited.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43