Tarantula from my garden

in #thailand6 years ago

Hi, Dear Steemians Friends.

Today I want to share with you a few pictures of the eight-legged that live in my garden. My backyard is full of life as it is a real jungle. I often catch snakes from non venomous one to King Cobra and remove them to a wilder forest far from human. There is plenty of birds of many exotic kinds from time to time and a crazy amount of insects. Today I want to speak about the Tarantulas that are living here. In Thailand, there are many kinds of Tarantulas with more or less venom but never real deadly venom, only it can be fatal for people who suffer from heart or brain disease. Most of the people are really afraid of Tarantula that the reality is more like for the snake they are much more afraid of us and they have the good reasons for it. Many time I have walked barefoot on the Tarantula hole and never get attacked, in fact when they feel the ground vibrations from us they run down to the bottom of their hole and will surface only when vibration is gone far. Here in the region of South East Asia, a few people in the villages eat Tarantula, mostly fried or in a kind of paste called "Nam Prick Buung" and it tastes quite good. Many of the people hunting them have been bitten a few time most of the time when they want to take the eggs at the bottom of the hole. If a Tarantula comes to walk on you just don't move and it will make it's way out smoothly as they never bite their support and this is also good for Scorpions. So next time you see a Tarantula don't try to kill it and just let it live its life.

Tarantula crossing the walkway during the dry season.
Tarantula2.jpg
TarantulaB.jpg

Tarantula in its hole ready for a hunt.
IMG_3245.JPG

Love and Happiness

@ricko66

Sort:  

wow I think I would die a bit if I saw one like that, I´m really scared about spiders or everything actually with more than four legs. I know it is a stupid thing but I can´t help my self. I use to hang out in Thailand every year for about 2-3 month and I have never seen a spider like that even if I have seen other big spiders that scared the heck out of me...and hopefully I never do. It is strange that so many people like my self are so scared of spiders..I have no problem with snakes or rats but the spiiiders 😱nice post though and well done that you have the guts to get that close😜😁

Thank you @sarong for your thoughtful comment. Yes, I know that so many peoples are afraid of spiders that in reality there are only a few kinds of spider that can be dangerous for human and most of the time it is not the biggest. Next time you come around Thailand give it a look at night, mostly in the forest they like to hang around and hunt when the sun is gone and don't forget if a spider whatever big it is come on you let it go it will never bite you only if you put your finger. The TV and movies are the reason for the fear :)

thnx I will try to have your advice in mind if I ever have a spider walking around on me :-D 🌺❤️☮️

Beautiful pictures that's a really nice spider 🕷️

ใช่ค่ะแถวบ้านเรียกว่าตัว บึ้ง เขาว่าเนื้ออร่อยมากแต่ไม่เคยทาน

Thank you I didn't know that before about their house name in Thai.

wow it's huge spider and looks sooo danger
be careful dear

Thanks for great post..i appreciate this photo..all the best..
upvote ..

ในไทย น่าจะเรียกว่าตัวบึ้งนะครับ คนทางภาคอีสานจะเอามาย่างกิน

Here, in Lanna everyone calls it a "Buung"

Wooahhh... It's a bit scary.. 🤤

Oh such a sweet creature
And you're lucky to see a live king cobra i only see them on the TV, be careful thoug you don't wanna get bitten by those things my friend

Yes, some insects are extinct. It is also unfortunate that they disappear in nature, so keep them in your garden to protect them even relatively. Nice article and useful I liked it

ok our leader. Tarantulas are no longer killed. and if I see her I photograph them

I am not sure but I think there is some tarantula in Morocco too. Yes, please take them in picture, it is always good to share what is our environment with other.

voilà un type d araignée photographié sur ma main ça aussi on le tue pas20180413_104146_001.jpg

That's a nice one, much smaller than the one I show which is the size of your hand. Always taking care of the life and try to avoid killing animals if possible make us a better human being.

ok c est promis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46