Exploring Thailand 2017

in #thailand7 years ago

Hi there, I'm Renan!
I moved from Brazil to the U.S when I was 9 years old.My first experience traveling was when I moved here, and of course when I return to Brazil to visit my family.Although I had only a small amount experience in traveling, it was enough to spark my curiosity.After a few years living in the U.S I once again was able to travel.This time it was for a wedding in Costa Rica.The friendly locals and the beautiful land scape were enough to fuel my wanderlust.I believe that on a planet so big as this one, it is a shame to not explore it.I want to experience other peoples customs, foods, and see the beautiful landscapes that this planet has to offer.
Years went by and now I'm attending college. I hope to become a dentist in order to pay for my travels and possibly help the locals with whatever skills I have to offer.

I was working on some school assignments when my brother sent me a text asking if I wanted to go to Thailand with him.I was going to deny the offer due to the fact that I haven't been working much, but after seeing the pictures of the scenery , I immediately said yes.

I became more and more excited as the day of our trip closed in.At any moment that I had spare time, I would begin to research things that I might be able to do and see once I got there.

The plan for our trip was for Ryan, my brother, and i to start with a layover in Istanbul.We purposely chose the longest layover so that we would have enough time to explore the area.It went as planned except, we were one man short since my brother forgot his passport back home.We got some cash and hired a guy named Murrat to show us around the city.Murrat dropped us off near the Blue Mosque and told us what direction we had to walk in order to see the things that we wanted to see.As soon as we got off the car, the funniest thing happened.We closed the door of the car and started walking.Once we did, a man started following us and telling us the history of the buildings around us.I was so confused because I was sure that we only hired a driver and not a guide.The man walked with us all the way up to the Blue Mosque when he finally told us goodbye. Before leaving, he stated that he owned a store right by where we got dropped off. "You should stop by once you are done, we have wonderful carpets", he said. Honestly, the idea of owning a Turkish carpet did sound pretty good to me.Unfortunately, we were not able to check out his store. Once we checked out the mosques in the area, the plan was to go to the Galata tower or the Bosphorus bridge first and food last.Well, that was the plan but Murrat did not agree so we went to get food instead.After an amazing Turkish meal, we did see the Galata tower.We were not able to go inside because it was closed, but it was still a great sight to see from the outside.Our last stop was at the Bosphorus bridge.Not only was this bridge a great photo spot, but it contained many restaurants and bars below.The walk below the bridge was definitely different from any bridge I've been on. It was amazing, and the happy Turkish music that they played sure got me in a good mood.
As we walked half way on the bridge, I decided that I should get my first Turkish beer.I usually prefer cocktails over beer, but this one was really good.Once I finished my beer, we got back in the car and headed to the airport.

We flew to Bangkok and then immediately to Koh Samui. The plane we took on the national flight had much more leg room than the international flight.Although the flight was only one hour, it sure was nice to relax a little bit.

Once we arrived in Koh Samui, our night was not over. It was 9 pm and we had to get to another island called Koh Phangan.The last ferry leaves at 6pm .I didn't freak out because I knew there had to be a way to get people to the island at night since they consistently have the Half Moon and the Full Moon parties on that island.I got in contact with a lady that runs a speed boat service to the island and she immediately replied. She sent a couple people to pick us but we had to walk out of the airport and wait in front of the family mart.I was worried the whole when they picked us up because for all I know we could be getting scammed.Fortunately, that is not what happened.We got on the speed boat, dropped our stuff at our hotel, and after a few rounds of beer pong, made it just in time to party at the Half Moon party.

The best moments can't always be captured on film because if they were, could I really say that I enjoyed my self. I did manage to put something together, so please sit back and enjoy day 1!

Sort:  

Very beautifull pictures. I hope to be able to travel to nice places like that too some day. @reisrenans

When you have some time,take a look at the video to get a better idea of the area!

You should look into traveling to Thailand.Everything is so cheap there.Well,after the flight.

Very nice. Love that place. Keep on making these videos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62625.86
ETH 3333.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47