First steps

in #thailand7 years ago

Preamble
Ok here I am. My first post after the #introduceyourself post. As I mentioned in the #introduceyourself post, I will start with translating some of my blogpost (kind of best of) which I made before, during and short after my sabbatical in 2013.
In my imagination, with that I will guide you, my dear readers, slowly from the past to the present. But enough intrdocution here we go, my first post from 16th September 2012 for the first time in english. And be awared, it is so bad. But later post will become far far better and funnier. Stay stuned and enjoy:

First Steps

I thought about how to write my first entry.

Should I just get going like I've never done anything else before? Or maybe I should write a short introduction according to the motto:"That's who I am, that's what I do and in my blog I want to report the following.

Well, the latter might not be bad. But you should be able to read this from the blog description (which I still have to do shame).

But maybe a little introduction wouldn't be bad. A prologue or something like that.

So, what has happened so far?

At the beginning of this year (2012) I got the o.k. to my a sabbatical application from the human resource department.

The conditions are such that I give up twenty-five percent of my salary for one and a half years, with the same number of weekly working hours, and I get seventy-five percent of my salary for half a year and zero weekly working hours.

In fact this is nothing more than a part-time work with a cumulative release phase at the end of the term.

Now, applying for a sabbatical isn't exciting enough to write a blog about it and I don't intend to. I intend to write about what is going on in the run-up to my sabbatical. And maybe even from the sabbatical. Let's see if it comes at all, as planned.

I intend to go to Thailand for the period of my exemption period. Why Thailand in particular, I will perhaps explain in a "Prequel"-post.

So far I have visited the beautiful East Asian country of smiles eight times. So I dare to pretend to have a rough idea of what I'm getting into. At least I hope so. My longest stay in Thailand so far was three weeks in July 2011, but I plan to top that until the beginning of the sabbatical.

The flight is already booked. I fly to Thailand from 28 November 2012 to 3 January 2013.

In order not to be constantly dependent on speaking English or have the local friends to translate for me, I took a Thai language course at the VHS. Let's see how hard it is to deal with a phonetic language.

Postamble

That it. My first blog post. From my perspective now it has a hard end. I was so young and unexperienced. Now I am only unexperienced, good bye my youth - it was a good but to short time ;)
What I never ever have written, also not in later post was why I took the sabbatical.
I took the sabbatical to stay with my girlfriend for a more long period of time at a strech.

Here you can find the original post

Sort:  

hello and welcome to steemit community. this is a great platform.
if you like, you can visit my blog and we can be in touch.. #follow :)

hello and welcome to steemit community. this is a great platform.
if you like, you can visit my blog and we can be in touch.. #follow :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62300.84
ETH 2421.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56