You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rant of the Week: Road Safety in Thailand

in #thailand6 years ago

Very interesting article. Kudos!

I am not at all in favor of people dying, and from a purely humanitarian perspective I fully share your expressed feeling about the state of things, currently. But, as an anti-statist, I cringe at allowing the government the power to tell adults what to do with their own lives...children, yes--that's a whole different story. But, if an adult wants to be an idiot...

Could religion and/or social stigma be employed to encourage helmet use? Might take awhile, and I'm not sure how to go about it,but... Maybe local communities could offer some type of (tax?) incentive for the use of helmets?

(FYI...the "i" in your 3rd-ro-last paragraph should be capitalized...lol)

Sort:  

I am anti-government also. I just can't understand why a group of people, who almost certainly know at least one person who has lost their life by choosing to not do something, would still choose to not do it. Mostly, I feel that when people are left to their own devices that at the minimum self-preservation would prevail.

If the only thing anyone can find is me not capitalizing my "i" 's ... i'm doing alright.

Thanks for reading

LOL...thanks for writing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58809.44
ETH 3151.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43