Tiger Cave Temple Krabi: Difficult but worth it

in #thailand6 years ago (edited)

My last article was about how you can obtain a bunch of food in Thailand for cheap. Now I will focus on how you can work up quite an appetite, for free!

chedi-tiger-cave-temple-krabi-south-thailand-58529472.jpg

they've been building this chedi ever since i moved here and i think they still have a lot left to do

The Tiger Cave Temple is located in Krabi Thailand. It is one of the largest temple complexes in the entire country and they always seem to be adding something to it. The main feature of the temple is the climb up to the tippy-top to the shrine that is meant to contain the footprint of Buddha. It is believed that tigers once lived in the caves here, hence the name. However, if they ever were there is a question of belief, there aren't any now.

This isn't a terribly old temple. Just a bit over 40 years. It is however one of the most famous in the country. This has a lot to do with the magnificent amount of work one must undertake to see the truly famous part of the complex. At the base of the hill there is a sign instructing that there are 1237 steps to the top.

maxresdedddfault.jpg
these are the easy ones

These numbers are actually a little bit off because about 7 years ago one of the more deadly portions of the climb was marked off and now there is a much easier set of stairs that goes around the side. Unfortunately I couldn't locate my picture of these now inaccessible steps, but we used to refer to it as the "chimney" as it was almost completely vertical. It was very dangerous and too many people got hurt from falling so they finally did something about it.

Anyway, the steps are not uniform in size and some of them are actually very steep. Trust me, it is very hard work

Right about stair 150, which is also about the time you are thinking about turning around and just using google images to get the sites these fellas start to kick in

photo4jpg.jpg
I hate these guys

People who have never been exposed to monkeys think they are wonderful and cute but I can assure you, they will rip your face off in order to get your bag of Cheetos. PRO TIP: don't bring a bag of Cheetos with you. I now affectionately refer to this type of monkey as "tree rats" and would very much prefer to not be around them. They bite many people who get too close and will steal your food and drinks and even smartphones / cameras - which they immediately throw off the side because they can't eat it.

They might be small and you can definitely clean their clocks in a fight, but not before they scratch and bite you necessitating a visit to the hospital for rabies shots. PRO TIP number 2: Just stay away from the monkeys.

If you do have what it takes to get to the top you will be treated to panoramic views of all of Krabi. You can see all the way to the islands on a clear day and it is truly breathtaking.

Tiger-Cave-header1-1200x600.jpg

kbv-tigercavetemple06.jpg

you will probably feel a great sense of accomplishment upon reaching the top and you deserve it. The fact that you are climbing over 1000 uneven steps in tropical heat is a very difficult task. Sit down, chug some water, and take in the view. Free drinking water is provided at the top, I wouldn't want to be the guy in charge of that.)

Then have your legs turn into rubber on the way down because most people start to lose control of their leg muscles during the journey down.

I have a personal attachment to this temple because many years ago while visiting a big group of monks were mixing cement and standing in a line moving cement up the hill. They asked me to help so I did. I spent about an hour mixing cement for them (which was the hardest part,) for a couple hours. I used to use the temple for cardio exercise so might as well get some strength training and blisters on my hands.

The fastest I ever did the climb was in just over 15 minutes. These days it takes me 45 or infinity minutes because I never go there anymore.

It's definintely worth the entrance fee of nothing so I would say this is a must-see in Krabi. You will likely burn a thousand calories and be in terrible need of a shower afterwards. So take of that, then hit the streets for some good cheap food.

I hope you enjoyed this article and as always, thanks for reading. I welcome your comments.

Sort:  

Awesome challenge

Thank you @gooddream for this article.

Caves offer an amazing sense of adventure for those brave enough to explore them. Caves can be found all around in Thailand.

One of the most popular caves in Krabi is the Tiger Cave Temple or Wat Tham Sua.

The Tiger Cave Temple is the main tourist attraction as it is one of the only caves here that is open to the public.

The Tiger Cave Temple was discovered by a monk and used for meditation and holding various Buddha statues.

The Tiger Cave Temple is an active temple for monks so I may witness some of the activities that occur within the temple when I visit.

the road to the top is exhausting but it is worth seeing that beautiful landscape, thanks for the advice of the monkeys, and I know that I should not get too close to them because they can steal my food.

The golden color of Buddha is very striking and the temple is very beautiful.

What a view of a historical place.Thanks for sharing.

Excellent photography, enjoy my vote.....

Wow!!!! Seeing this post I want to travel to Thailand.....Tiger Cave Temple is so beautiful......Only this temple is beautiful???I think every place beside this temple is very beautiful around it......If I go to Thailand, you will also visit this beautiful temple with your food information......... @gooddream

a beautiful grand temple,with the architecture of the past and is still standing strong,@gooddream

Wow very nice article..

I now regret that I didn't climb that steps which I would definitely do when I get there again. 😭

The 2nd picture from below looks like on the heaven.😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54396.77
ETH 2275.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31