Learning Thai without ever going to Thailand - Part 1

in #thailand6 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemians! I have always been interested in learning languages and I would like to explore this topic a bit more in my today's post. Having graduated from linguistic studies - English Philology - and having tried to learn 8 foreign languages throughout my life: English, German, French, Greek, Latin, Thai, Mandarin Chinese (with various degrees of success), I have to admit that Thai language is one of the most difficult, if not the most difficult language that I have ever attempted to learn. I would like to make it clear though that I am talking from a perspective of an European who have been exposed for most of his life to languages from Germanic, Slavic, and Italic branches of Indo-European language family. Your observations will be very different if you have been exposed to Asian languages, I suppose. Anyway, these days I have more time on my hands so I am getting back to learning Thai and I hope that by writing this post I will not only give you a starting point if you're interested in learning Thai, but I will also help myself to re-think my goals connected to learning and mastering (hopefully) Thai language.

bangkok-2732437_1920.jpg

You don't have to live in Thailand to learn Thai

I would go even a bit futher and would say that living in Thailand, Bangkok in particular, might actually discourage you from learning Thai. There are various reasons behind it.

First, if you live in Bangkok you will find out that most people you will be dealing with: shop assistants, vendors, servers, taxi drivers etc., speak basic English. Oftentimes it is just a very limited range of expressions, still sufficient enough to make foreigners comfortable and make them get by without using any Thai, in most cases at least. Sure, if can't say a single phrase in Thai Bangkok you are an easy prey for con artists in Bangkok, like taxi drivers who want to double-charge you. However, situations like that can be avoided without speaking the language, just use your common sense.

man-3092206_1920.jpg

You might be surprised to find even motorbike taxi drivers being able to communicate in English in Bangkok. Although, I have to be honest with you here, the further away you get from the city centre the harder it gets!

Then, taking into account that you have come to Thailand to change your lifestyle and enjoy your life a bit more, taking any serious endeavours, such as learning this very exotic language, might be just out of your scope of interests, at least for the first few years or so. There are so many fun things to do in Thailand, so many beautiful places to see and so many fascinating people to meet that you might not find much time for diligent work on your Thai.

ship-2947887_1920.jpg

Last but not least, Thai is not an easy language to acquire or pick up by just listening to conversations around you. Have you ever had this idea when watching some TV series, say Narcos, that you could pick up a language, say Spanish, easily within a few months. I'm sorry to say that, but it won't probably happen with Thai, unless you have already been familiar with tonal languages. Then, if you are coming to Thailand as a digital expat, like myself, you won't get that much exposure to picking up conversations, or rather your exposure will be limited to restaurants, taxis, pubs, clubs, etc.

To prove my words: whenever you have a chance, talk to foreigners who have lived in Bangkok for a few years or so. You will find that the vast majority of them can't have a chat in Thai, not to mention a proper conversation or the ability to read Thai. Sure, there will be few who have made the effort to learn the language or acquired Thai due to their rare linguistic talent or the fact that they moved here as children. I still consider them to be exceptions, yet I'm always happy to meet Thai-speaking foreigners in the Land of Smiles.

thailand-2630777_1920.jpg

What to do then if you want to learn Thai without ever going to Thailand? Check out my next post to find out!

Would you like to win 25 SBD? Check out my 500 Followers Contest:

https://steemit.com/guitar/@earworm/thank-you-to-my-500-followers-25-sbd-giveaway-dtube-contest-nailed-that-lead

All of the pictures used in this post are from pixabay.com and are labeled for reuse

Earworm

Sort:  

A very good post and I am waiting for more. I must disagree, however, that you think that basic English is spoken around. "You might be surprised to find even motorbike taxi drivers being able to communicate in English in Bangkok."

Perhaps it all depends on the perspective. In comparison to the neighbouring countries like Cambodia or even Myanmar not even mentioning Malaysia, the knowledge of English is very disappointing.

But hey, you're going to teach us Thai, no? ;-)

Hehe, I'll do my best. Yeah, the point you mentioned is definitely relative. When you compare it to China or Japan, the countries that perhaps could be within the scope of my interest when it comes to relocation, Thailand seems to be far ahead. My experience with Thailand started on the suburbs of Bangkok, this might be another factor influencing my judgement. :)

I've been to Beijing, Shanghai, Yunnan province and I'd definitely choose Thailand over it. But you are right. Thais are English geniuses in comparison to these places. I'd consider Hong Kong for relocation since I like it and people speak English, but when you consider prices, salaries, value for money... Bangkok still wins!

Sawasdee Khrap Khun @earworm. Khun phut pasat Thai dai may? Pom yindee tii rudjak khun :)

Sawasdee khrupom. Phut pasat Thai dai khrup, nit noi. Mai mee welaa rian! Yin dii tee dai rudjak chen gan khrup.

Dii Mak khun @earworm! Nice to meet you as I go throw your blog looking for guitar content I come across that there are two things that bring us closer Guitar and Thailand. I am French and live in Thailand for 20 years but work all over Asia. Really nice to meet you :)

Guitar and Thailand are two important things for me indeed. Nice to meet you, too. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.78
ETH 3089.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48