You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't open a business in Thailand (part 2)

in #thailand6 years ago

I just left Thailand less than a week ago for my 2nd visit and want to move there, I was looking for jobs but wanted to open a business, thanks for saving me headaches and money sir! You have a new fan! I still want to move there but need a new approach, if crypto would just take-off I will be able to otherwise...

Sort:  

I wish i could say that there were at least a few exceptions to this "rule" that I have discovered but I actually thought I was one. I will be writing about that story soon... Perhaps today.

Unfortunately, Thailand isn't particularly kind to digital nomads either. The main path that everyone attempting to do this would take is to get education visas, 1 year at a time. You can study Muay Thai, Thai language, or in Chiang Mai I found a hand-to-hand combat visa (which is interesting.)

The jobs that are available here are just as i described. There are also jobs here and there for accommodation management such as villas or resorts, but you need to have very specific qualifications (and probably speak a bit of Thai) to get these jobs.

If you could find something to do online and then move here just for a bit but not commit, i think that would be a better approach.

Thank you very much for sharing your wisdom!

unfortunately, Thailand isn't particularly kind to digital nomads either. In order to do this in the long term the only real option you have is to get an education visa (1 year) this is available in a variety of things but mostly diving and learning Thai language. I did find one in hand-to-hand combat up in Chiang Mai.

I wish i could say that I had found an exception to the "rule" that I have stated and perhaps i would try to focus on such instances but to be honest I thought I was an exception and I was, but the reality is i just lasted longer a lot longer than others.

There are jobs in hospitality management but you need a very specific set of skills and normally speaking at least basic Thai is one of them. Or you need to be something unique like a world-class chef.

I wonder if UFC projectionist as well as video engineering & production manager for various large scale productions would sell me 😂 probably not as you said they could hire 5 locals instead. Now the Thai language, diving & muay thai has my interest...just gotta work on that online income!

i think ONE the UFC-ish company has a rather large presence in Thailand. you might want to take a look at them. you never know. I met a guy who does something like that with them and he was Australian.

Sounds good I will include that in my research! Thanks again

just so you know my double response was due to network failures this morning. You can see my responses are quite similar. haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67200.37
ETH 3331.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77