A Mouthful of House Crickets

in #thaifood6 years ago


Attachment-1 (40).jpeg

House crickets are usually found in Southwest Asia and became the world's standard insect feeder the past 50 years. In Thailand, they are also used for human consumption because like all insects, house crickets are a complete protein. We were visiting the mountain at Suppadu Lake in Nakhon Ratchasima and picked up some house crickets at the local village market. When we got to The Resort Angel Hill, the lovely staff fried and seasoned the house crickets for us.

Attachment-1 (41).jpeg

I've eaten a lot of different insects since I've been living in Thailand but this is the first time I've had a spoonful of one. Most insects fried in Thailand are seasoned with soy sauce and black pepper. The texture and taste of the actual crickets are a lot better than most edible insects. It was enjoyable overall and will most like try it again. Yummy!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I live in Thailand but I don't want to have those insects. 🤮😆

LOL, I'll try anything to make the locals smile :)

😂 😆 😝

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85