You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't think I will get a motorbike in Chiang Mai

in #th6 years ago

To ask me not to ride a motorbike is like asking me not to breath ^^

I do actually have a 115cc automatic Fino, as well as my 250cc. I rode all over the north of Thailand many times over on that little Fino. :) It is still my daily commuter bike, but the Kms' are ranking up.

I understand your reasons though. When I first arrived in Chiang Mai in 2006 is was no where near as congested. Not many foreigners too. ..at least not like today. It was heaven to get around the city (which, as I said in a previous comment, I now avoid).

One point about the traffic police though, is that they have designated targets. So yes, you will see them pull over tourists / foreigners are certain hot spots, but outside of the city you will see them pull over only Thai on bikes or only cars. It just depends on the zone. So tourist hotspots are for targeting tourists. Which makes sense when you think about it ..and more profitable.

Nice insights though, and can see why today there are easier options not to ride. In 2006 there wasn't grab etc..

Sort:  

since i don't really need to be anywere fast I think i am just going to Grab or ride a bicycle. Or rent a motorbike and only use it on the outskirts. I am completely qualified for an actual license but i am more of a "meh", i donwanna to that... type of guy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57868.91
ETH 2362.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36