You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Port Isaac Drangs

in #tfcup6 years ago

So, basically the folks that are down in the village are tourists, then, wandering through, rather than actually living there and working or something. Interesting. I guess that's what progress will do. It does kind of make it quaint, though, because the town becomes nearly all inhabited by vacationers. Does that mean, though, that there aren't any shops open down there?

Those are very narrow throughways indeed. I've been down a couple of alleys in Mexico that remind of that. It definitely takes you back a few centuries. :)

Sort:  

There are a few shops @glenalbrethsen and some of the people are locals - fishermen, lifeboat crew and such like. I imagine the people who work in the shops, pubs and restaurants come from further afield though, unless they're the owners.

But, yes, most of the people wandering around would be tourists. 😊

That kind of reminds me of Disneyland, in that virtually no on really lives there, but it's inhabited by tourists and people who work there for most of the day. I just hadn't thought of it in terms of an actual village where people used to live.

Maybe some day the reverse will happen to Disneyland, though I guess there's not really any homes (at least none that I can remember) in Disneyland proper. There's the hotels somewhere onsite. I've never stayed in one of them so I don't know exactly where they're located in relation to the park.

Still, it sounds like a cool place to visit and a rare opportunity (at least for me and where I live) to go through a town much as it was hundreds of years ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68180.36
ETH 2642.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70