Christmas Tea In June

in #tfcup6 years ago


Afternoon Tea the Right Way - Part I


One of my Christmas presents from my daughter and son-in-law last year was an afternoon tea for two at 'Cakes the Difference' in Patcham, Brighton.

To make it extra special I decided to take Rebecca as my plus one and after a wonderful tea we spent a couple of hours in town together. This is a rare treat for me since she doesn't have much spare time what with working and having two young kids.

'Cakes the Difference' serves their afternoon teas much as they were served in the old days, i.e. they serve the sandwiches first and then the cakes. Most places you go to nowadays put the sandwiches on the bottom tier of the cake stand, the cakes on the next and the scones on the top.

We started with . . .

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

4 Different Types of Sandwiches

afternoon tea sandwiches.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

Served on a silver 2-tiered cake stand we had:

cream cheese and cucumber, local smoked salmon, free range egg mayonnaise and free range dry cured ham

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Here is a little taster of the ambience of 'Cakes the Difference' where vintage china and vintage tablecloths add to the traditional feel.

afternoon tea cafe.jpg

~ ~ ~

chandelier.jpg

afternoon tea cutlery.jpg

~ ~ ~

afternoon tea table.jpg

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

So there you have the first course.

I will post the second course, the cakes, next week. But just to whet your appetite here's an example of the meringues they sell.

meringues.jpg

These are the stem ginger and blackberry ones.



Thank you to @juliank and @photocontests for this daily photography contest.

Sort:  

Oh! So lovely! I had high tea once at the Plaza on 5th Ave. In NYC and it was incredibly elegant. Yours looks SO wonderful. I love meringues!

Yeah meringues are one of my favourites too @melinda010100. We didn't have the ones in the picture but we did get a couple in the tea, which you'll see next week. 😁

gorgeous set up and beautiful shop! way to keep us tuned in for next week ;)

Ha, ha, ha. Yeah I like to keep a bit of material up my sleeve @steven-patrick. 😁

Very chic! I absolutely love the cutlery and the whole setting of the tableware!

Thank you @rimicane. The setting was very quaint and the food was very yummy! 😊

@gillianpearce, I like that window with the big cakes, I can imagine what a pleasant aroma hovers in this cafe-confectionery

Actually it didn't have much of an aroma @madlenfox. Maybe the glass kept it away from us. But the yumminess of the tea more than made up for it! 😊

@gillianpearce , The interior looks very cozy. It is very nice to visit and drink a Cup of tea.

We didn't actually drink tea @madlenfox. We both chose coffee! 😂

I never drink tea. My daughter does but not on that day. 😁

@gillianpearce, I drink it rarely, only with something very sweet. But mainly the same coffee. I like to drink coffee just like that, separately, just enjoying its taste and aroma.

WHAT an exceptional post!!!
LOVE all the beautiful images you shared!

The first image of your sandwiches... WOW! Is all I can say!

SO HAPPY you were able to enjoy the day!

Yes. It was wonderful. Thank you @goldendawne.

Wait until you see the cakes! 😁

Thank you for stopping by.

howdy from Texas @gillianpearce! oh my gosh I want to go to that cake shop! I think I could be a regular there!
wonderful post thank you but you riled up my taste buds!

Hi @janton. The first sandwich course was good, but wait until you see the cakes next week! 😁

oh no!! I'm gonna be drooling!
can I get a preview? lol no that's okay I'll wait but I know it's
gonna drive me crazy because I got off sugar a couple months
ago but still dream about it! and cakes are my favorite.
looking forward to that post!
thanks @gillianpearce!
God bless you and the U.K.!
(do they still say "long live the Queen!" ?)

I gave you a preview @janton. That's what the meringues were. 😂

I have never heard anyone say "long live the Queen!"

howdy back @gillianpearce! I'm shocked. No one says long Live the Queen?
I figured that would be a standard British proclamation! lol.
but I'm just a country boy, I know nothing.
In fact I don't even quite understand the meringues thing.
bytheway is that a strange looking word or what? Iol I mean
who designed that one? Is that a British word?

So are the meringues the same stuff that meringues pies are made of?
see I know nothing sorry! lol. It doesn't look like a Texas thing though.
but they do look wonderful and I'd love to try that stuff.

thanks for gettin back to me. hey do they say "God Save the Queen?"

I say God bless you and Britain!

do they say "God Save the Queen?"

I've never heard anyone say it @janto, except on the tele at formal occasions. Maybe I don't move in the right circles. 😁

Meringues are just whipped egg white with sugar. The type in the photograph are baked in a very low temperature oven for a couple of hours, as far as I remember.

howdy from Texas @gillianpearce where we don't do meringues! lol
no I'm sure people do somewhere in Texas. Ok so those things are the same as the pie topping but they also bake them and serve them separately also, correct? and there's a lot of that in England?

lol. I'm sure I sound so stupid but I like to learn so I'm not afraid of sounding stupid, I can laugh at myself, that's why I always have redneck jokes on my posts.
I wonder if the U.K. has rednecks? probably not, ya'll seem like a sophisticated bunch!

thank you gillianpearce I like your style and your work ethic!
I say God bless gillianpearce, God bless England, Long live the Queen and God Save the Queen!

Wow, looks like u had a wonderful time at cakes the difference:)

Yes. I certainly did @victordaniels. Thank you for stopping by. 😊

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-25T17:14:15
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2197.09/3200.00
Total Photos: 271
Total comments: 328
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67563.69
ETH 3470.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68