The Tezos ICO approaches and it will be the biggest since Ethereum

in #tezos7 years ago

This is an important ICO which I suggest everyone take a close look at. Second only to Ethereum and EOS in it's significance at this time. The ICO begins on July 1st which is now very near and it is uncapped. This is an ICO which can raise hundreds of millions or even billions of dollars. The more they raise in the first week, the more important it will be to acquire a stake in my opinion because the more likely it will be that they'll find success.

The Tezos team is going with a functional style programming language (Michelson) for their smart contracts which will enable billions of dollars to be safely held in secure code. Tezos will be very competitive with Ethereum, EOS, and Tauchain, which I think will be the big players in 2018. Of course this is not investment advice, or a suggestion to speculate. I in fact would like to say that speculation (day trading) is nothing more than gambling statistically because timing the market is luck based but investing is knowing the fundamentals, understanding the technology, understanding the market psychology, and thinking 5-10 year strategies.

An investor can retire off the right crypto portfolio.

Sort:  

Be careful with Tezos.

IMO:

  • tech is mostly unnecessary
  • legal questions - intellectual property
  • ICOs in general

The hype is real, will draw in millions.

Read more in my post below for elaboration:
https://steemit.com/tezos/@kyle.anderson/we-don-t-need-to-hardfork-a-questionable-story-about-tezos-ico-july-1st

Another problem is they haven't actually formally verified any of their code. This is a problem as they are essentially marketing their platform as being formally verified. When asked, "why would someone formally verify the amendments if NONE of the other code is formally verified?", Arthur responded that "OCaml is easier to verify down the line".

Valid point. They need to formally verify at least core aspects of their code but I assume with the billions they get in funding they'll be able to do that.

Well, I sure as heck am not funding that. I'll just wait until the smart bloke ports the verified code into a solidity contract.

billions in the hole IMO. The whole self-amending​ thing is BS anyways.

Thanks for the information! This can be a good tool to hedge your stack in Ethereum. Looks like it has the same potential as Dash when Bitcoin's scaling problems popped up. In the long term I don't expect much, but in the short term there could be a lot of money to be made when ETH faces it's first problems after the huge bull run (what is starting now).

I will give it a shot and join the ICO

Another uncapped ICO!?

As many other new cryptos who copy-paste Bitcoin and Ethereum code, Tezos built their own from the ground up.
But one information bother me. In this case, founders get 8.5% of the fiat proceeds in cash in addition to 10% of the tokens. This means, even if their projects fails, they will become extremely wealthy.
@dana-edwards @michiel what is your opinion?

A good point.

The more important question is whether or not they can build it. If it can get built then it doesn't matter to me that they become extremely wealthy because the whole platform will be a big deal. If it fails and they become extremely wealthy then it's an issue.

Their tokens should be vested, as in locked up for at least 1 year.

I found a great, if pessimistic, analysis of this ICO. Just to have a little counter to the hype. I'm investing a little anyway, just in case, but please be aware of the risks, which every ICO investor should, but sometimes we all know people that want to see their ICOs with rose-tinted glasses.

I have 20k sitting in my kraken account this maybe a good place to park $15,000 for the long term . I have been waiting for a good ico to jump on. And seeing I am all about taking huge risks, here is my chance

may i ask if you made it off of btc or eth or this is initial capitol?

Havent made a dime yet. All from my personal savings. The next dollar i make will be my first

best of luck my man! Thats a lot of wealth to start out with, I would definitely suggest not putting it all into one coin, and maybe investing in ether and btc when they have these price dips.

ps: i have a post on my account that may help if you are struggling with getting your avatar to work here on steemit.

Dont have an avatar yet. But thanks ill give it a read just in case. Really in the grand scheme of things 20k isnt that much . More so when you read my post on stupid purchases and see how much ive blown. Ill keep your suggestions in mind

Ah brother, I could go on and on about the dumb things I've wasted money on. But now that its tight for me 20k seems like an enormous amount; though in january I was ready to put 1k into ether and if I had I would have been up about 30000%.

That's life though. Make sure to keep us updated on your investments, I'm sure there are plenty of us who would love to see what you do with it.
~mk

I will make sure to do so. Thanks for reading !!!

be careful man, that 18k u got can go quick. ico are highly speculative , maybe put 8k in rather than 18 lol

Lol I just want to stuff it somewhere and forget about it for a few years

Wouldn't advise putting 75% in any single token Or project.

Maybe some in Tezos. Also EOS. Tauchain - if get in now. Ethereum. Bitshares. Steem. A few others.

Diversification is always recommended for good reasons...

I agree but diversification takes management. I was really hoping to stick this one is somewhere and forget about it. That way I wouldn't piss it away on something stupid one day. Maybe ill have to start working on an allocation stratgey for my portfolio

I've been looking to invest in some crypto, maybe I should diversify and add some Tezos to the portfolio? I'm looking for what will possibly be the next bitcoin.

Every new entrant into the crypto space says that they are better than ether and btc @dana-edwards

Yes but in this case people who carefully study the technology agree that Tezos represents a completely new approach in terms of smart contract development. Also the self amending properties mean governance is there by default.

It could fail but it probably wont be because of the tech.

wow, will it be as great as ICONOMI and how can one get in ? thanks a lot for sharing this .
Following you in order to stay in touch.

This is some great info! Thanks for the heads up!

Thank you! I would love too know your opinion about bitcoin fork in August!

Bitcoin has limited use cases as digital gold. Bitcoin can be run on Ethereum, EOS, or Tezos as a smart contract.

thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64411.29
ETH 3516.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55