Instant 'audio books' using your mobile gadetry

in #text2speech8 years ago

1. download IVONA Text-to-Speech HD (sadly not currently avail on my new Android running 6.0.1)

2. download IVONA Amy UK English beta

3. download the Pocket (formerly Read It Later) app

4. From your mobiles 'language and input' settings, chose English Amy as your text-to-speech voice. 

Usage:  Anytime you see something cool to read--for instance, any well done and lengthy Steemit post--just 'share' it to your Pocket app. I do this both from PC or mobile. Pocket is very cross-platform. Later when you have time (for me, this means in my car, or doing drudge work on the job), run Pocket, find your saved story, and from Pocket's menu, choose 'Listen (TTS)'.

Prepare to be really pleased. For fun, choose your standard Samsung, Siri, Google, etc voice and compare to English Amy. Then switch back. Fast. 

I have listened to countless chunks of text from the Intertubes using Pocket and English Amy for at least three years. Occasionally the web formatting of a particular webpage isn't 'standard' and not compatible with Pocket and TTS. There is a simple way to 'report' it and hopefully Pocket tech folks will kindly help them with their HTML skills. 

BTW, Pocket has a nice 'dark theme' which I also recommend. Easy on the old eyes. 

Enjoy!

P.S., I'm not affiliated with Pocket, Ivona, or any other company, entity etc on the web. I just like stuff that works better than you expect it to. 


Sort:  

I'll have to give it a try, I haven't had time to read some books that are not on audio. Thanks!

Will have to take a look at this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44