Down For Whatever in Dallas Ft. Worth

in #texas7 years ago

Hi there!

My name is Zeshan N. Segal, but everyone calls me Zee!

I am new to blogging, and this is my 1st Post on Steem! I like the community and the idea. It's a great platform, and I see the potential.

For my intro:

Born and raised in the Dallas - Fort Worth Metroplex. From going to art museums and the rodeo in Fort Worth to Rangers and Cowboys games in Arlington, to exploring the nightlife in Dallas, I love learning about local areas. I grew up traveling, and feel like a native anywhere I go.

The main point of my blog is to focus on local happenings in whatever city I happen to be in.

I don't make any money for plugging any of this stuff. It's just things I am interested in going to, and links to more information, eventbrite, meetup, facebook, etc.

For now, my blog will be focused locally on Texas, mainly DFW and Austin. I intend to do some research on any city I end up in, and posting about the events I am trying to do while in that city.

Some of my interests include:

  • Science
  • Technology
  • Music
  • Gadgets
  • Pop Culture
  • Engineering
  • Adventuring
  • Travel
  • Futurism

All my other content can be found on my blog at: http://z.downforwhatever.city. I have a bunch of stuff going on this week. DFW is full of surprises sometimes :)

Technology Events:

  • The Dallas Innovation Alliance is opening the doors to it's Living Lab tomorrow, Jan. 23rd from 6-9p! The event is FREE! The description from the EventBrite Invitation: "...Phase II of the DIA Smart Cities Living Lab powered by AT&T, learn about the new technologies, results to-date from projects in motion, and what is coming next. Finally, enjoy some great conversations and refreshments! Some surprises to come..."

  • Thursday, Jan. 25th, the Common Desk, is hosting a grand opening party to celebrate the opening of the Ft. Worth Location. Looks fun! I like the Common Desk co-working spaces. They are well designed and great for meeting like-minded individuals.

  • Sunday, Jan. 28th the Botanical Research Institute of Texas (BRIT) is hosting it's first ever Sip and See. BRIT open house with tours, live music and champagne! It's an incredible building and beautiful space. Do yourself a favor and check it out!

Social and Local Events:

  • Norma's in Oak Cliff is having a Pie Day tomorrow, Jan 23rd! Looks good, and I would love to eat some pie for breakfast! :)

  • The Dallas Arboretum is hosting an Open House and Tasting Event on Thursday, Jan. 25th.

  • Thursday, Jan. 25th is also the Throwback Party at the Prophet Bar. I am looking forward to this, and dressing in 90s attire is encouraged! All I need to do is wear what I regularly wear now, as the 90s are back in fashion (at last!).

  • Friday, Jan. 26th Who's Bad, a Michael Jackson Tribute crew, are playing at the House of Blues - Dallas! I always wish I had a chance to see MJ in concert. Next best? We'll see...

  • Saturday, Jan. 27th there is a Onesie Bar Crawl!!! Anyone want to go get drinks in onesies with me?!

  • The Killers are playing Saturday, Jan. 27th at the Toyota Music Factory in Irving. I like the Music Factory, because it's a great venue, great sound, and some cool shows have made it through. It's the venue size DFW has been missing in some ways, just smaller than the Starplex Pavilion, and bigger than the Bomb Factory or South Side Ballroom.

Events and Activities I Wish I Could Make:

  • Bon Iver is playing at the Bomb Factory in Dallas, Jan. 23rd.

  • On, Wednesday, Jan. 24th in Austin, they are hosting an Office Trivia Night! I love this show, and wish I could make this event. I am thinking about driving down for the night, just to partake! :)

  • Dallas Agile Leadership Network is hosting A Leader’s Guide to the Care and Feeding of Agile Teams Tuesday, Jan. 23rd. I won't be able to make this event, as it is at the same time as the DIA event above, however, it looks rad. You should try and go if you have the time!

  • As I am into EVERYTHING, I want to join in this conversation on Islam, Judaism, and Christianity Thursday, Jan. 25th, but I just don't have the capacity to make it.

  • At the Perot Museum, it is Social Science night! These are great if you can buy tickets to them. They sell out pretty fast, so keep your eyes open for the next one. Definitely a fun date night, or outing with friends! You should go for me, and let me know how it is!

I also have some family events to squeeze in this weekend, as well as some volunteering! And, this is just a fraction of what is going on in the area.

Do you know about anything I should join in on? Please let me know! I would love to attend.

I like supporting local and national acts, activities, and events. Feel free to reach out to me or leave a comment! Enjoy your week, I know I am going to enjoy mine!

Until next post,

ZNS
ZnPandPooch.jpg

Sort:  

Nice to meet you @zeesegal🙃
Welcome to Steemit!
Try to get a profile picture!
Take one from Instagram using my post:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@heiner/how-to-use-a-steemit-profile-picture-from-instagram

Thanks @heiner! I appreciate the warm welcome and help on setting my pic!

Congratulations @zeesegal, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45