My Testimony on Psalms 37:4

in #testimony8 years ago (edited)

This is my story. :)

So I started learning to play the guitar 12 years ago without owning one. Uh-huh. A guitar-less guitar-er. Hoho. ^^ It was the summer after my fifth grade when my older sister introduced the guitar to me and encouraged me to learn how to play it. (Trivia: The first song that I learned was "The Heart of Worship" by Matt Redman with this chord progression: D-A-Em. ) And so to make the long story short, I took this old music songbook in our bookshelf with a chord chart at the back and started learning chords and a few songs with it. I remember borrowing the guitar from our neighbor every week and spend the whole day learning Don Moen's songs while enduring the pain in my fingertips. It was an awful hell of a journey but everything was worth the pain later on. :)

Approximately a year later, I entered the music ministry of the church that I grew up in - and right then and there, I knew that I was called to serve God thru this ministry for the rest of my lifetime. Years have passed and my passion and love for music have grown. It became not just only an interest but a lifestyle for me. Thru music incorporated in worship, I developed that attitude of catering excellence to the feet of my Maker at all times and not just settle for mediocrity.

And then the time came when I realized that I could do so much more and so much better if I own a guitar especially that the songs being played on church nowadays demands more time to practice and do "cifra". So yeah, I had this desire in my heart to have my own guitar and asked God thru constant prayer to bless me with something that's not just within the "playable" category but of "high quality and standard". You know, there's nothing wrong asking God for big things. The weight of our requests to God could also reflect our faith to Him. We ask for great things (like miracles) because we believe that He is able to do exceedingly and abundantly that is far beyond of what our minds could ever imagine. And that's one thing I learned about life.

And guess what? (Going back to my story...) Mid-last year, I was blessed with a Fender acoustic guitar (from Saudi Arabia) by the father of a friend, that's worth of about two years of my tuition fee in college! And later that same year I received the promised graduation gift from my brother-in-law -- an Ibanez acoustic guitar! :'D

You see, God can do mighty things! His greatness is unpredictable and we can never put Him on a box. Don't limit Him to your standard. He could do far more than what you could expect. I shared this not because I wanted to boast about the things that I received but to share with you and let you know that no matter how undeserving you are (we are), God's grace still abounds. And He knows everything that is in your heart. If you desire something, you know what to do. You know who to call. :)

"Delight yourself in the Lord and He will grant the desires of your heart."

  • Psalms 37:4

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33