Page View Counter [Test Post]

in #test8 years ago

I wanted to try one and see if it worked here:


I think that this can be a good statistic to track as it gives you a feel for how many users actually opened your article.  This can help guide authors to work on topics that attract the most views.  Upvotes are nice, but I feel that they don't tell the whole story as far as the level of interest your articles generate.

There are also lurkers who don't have accounts but occasionally check out what's going on here.  This could help to track them as well.

I found some others that require the webpage address, so I will add those in the comments after I post.

Sort:  

All images get cached by img1.steemit.com.
But this will work with users of third party apps that view posts that don't use that caching server, like eSteem.

ahhh...gotcha

This is my miner acct that I gave up mining with XD...damn rabbits. Was using to test :)

Oh haha. Yes, I haven't signed a block for more than 24 hours!

Just saw that the counter works on Steemd:
https://steemd.com/test/@derekareith/page-view-counter-test-post
I thought Steemd just redirects the same cached images, but I guess its just steemit. I'm wondering if there's a way to make it "hidden" on steemit but visible on steemd so authors could monitor these stats on the backend?

It would seem only Steemit uses the caching server img1.steemit.com, because, well, it's theirs.. Steemd just shows the post as it is in the blockchain, which is the unaltered image link.
The thing is, is that all the posts are on a public decentralized blockchain, so it's hard to track who has accessed it. You would have to make it a private blockchain, and count all requests to retrieve a post. Even if this were the case, you would have no way to track any copies of the data made after the fact.

(html comment removed: Counter Code START )Free Web Counter
Free Web Counter(html comment removed: Counter Code END )

(html comment removed: Start of SimpleHitCounter Code )

commercial cleaning broward
(html comment removed: End of SimpleHitCounter Code ) maybe this one ?

I opened, read and upvoted, interesting to see the outcome :)

Do not see a counter?

yea stuck on 0...the others I tried in the comments just say various errors/img cant display

Let us know if you get it to work!

I tried this not long ago.

Wish it was easy to integrate...seems like it would be useful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64187.99
ETH 2761.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73