You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Happy-Sad Dog Tessellation +Process

in #tessellation6 years ago (edited)

Louisiana, in four counties, if a large elephaant took a break, and sat upon it in dis-respect, or at least hot, sweaty elephanteen dis-regard, due to their heavy humidity.
I do have a ??. So do you just cut out shapes, then slice them, and put them together, tracing one after the other, together. Then fit an image into the shape, as you see it? I'm not familiar with tessellation. But I love what is comes out AS. Very creative to come up with filler imagery. And you give them so much personality. I guess there is a real truth to 'the eyes have it'. So important. Reminds me a bit of @anca3drandom's work with mandalas' early on in Steemit. Though I realize they are not the same thing. Just the repeatability of imagery. Hope your day is grand, and not too humid.
PS. Dogfacts, YAY...
PPS. Thanks for the nice re-steem

Sort:  

I see Louisiana in there, yes. Kind of boot-like, maybe from the elephant and his heaviness. Might even pass for Alabama on a foggy day.

Regarding how these are made, yeah basically you have it down right. The most important part is the symmetry because if that's overlooked, the shape just won't tessellate. There's maths involved, maths I'm not quite qualified to explain at the moment. You know, I was considering making a post that describes how to make tessellations (there's more than one way to tessellate a cat) for those interested in learning. It's pretty simple once the process is understood, and surprisingly fun once you're in the groove.

Ah, anca3drandom, it's been a moment since I've looked at her work, thanks for mentioning her :]

I see Louisiana in there, yes. Kind of boot-like, maybe from the elephant and his heaviness. Might even pass for Alabama on a foggy day.

Regarding how these are made, yeah basically you have it down right. The most important part is the symmetry because if that's overlooked, the shape just won't tessellate. There's maths involved, maths I'm not quite qualified to explain at the moment. You know, I was considering making a post that describes how to make tessellations (there's more than one way to tessellate a cat) for those interested in learning. It's pretty simple once the process is understood, and surprisingly fun once you're in the groove.

Ah, anca3drandom, it's been a moment since I've looked at her work, thanks for mentioning her :]

I sent you a message in Steemchat, about a project. Might check it out when you get a chance....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57690.80
ETH 2449.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33