Wrought Iron Sculptures (street art) – Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia

in #tepchallenge6 years ago
This is my entry in The Explorer's Graffiti and Street Art photo challenge.

[Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

The old section of Georgetown, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, is known for its street art. Recently, some of the art has evolved into wrought iron sculptures such as the one in the photo. There are over 50 of these sculptures located throughout the old town.   

At first glance, they look like simple 2-dimensional sketches, but upon closer observation, one sees that they are in fact 3-D sculptures.    

The sculptures explore interesting, unique, and quirky aspects of the history and culture of the city. Most of them feature a combination of caricatured figures and brief anecdotes (in English) about some curious facts regarding the city or its people.

Sort:  

Thank you for taking part in this months #culturevulture challenge. Good Luck.

That is a cool piece of art, at first I thought it was on the wall until I read the text. The style is so similar to a close friend of mine, apart from his were illustrations. Thank you for another great entry. By the way I was looking at some jobs near that area a while back and came across a lot of nice artwork.

Lovely picture. The art work is just amazing , looking at it over and over again it look like sketches on the work. 😂 but looking at it from the ground I saw it well

I’ve been to Malaysia but only in Kota Kinabalu. I would definitely go to Penang next time. 😊 The street art looks amazing. Well done for spotting it. Did you took a picture of a kid in a bicycle?

I can't remember is I saw any with a kid on a bike. I just remember seeing lots of it. Just walking around, we'd turn a corner and there would be another interesting installation of this wrought iron. Being a bit of a "wordsmith / verbivore," I always stopped and read all of the writing on the wall. 😊

I admire your attention to little details and how you depict them in pictures. Please keep up the good work.

Thanks for your comment. I try to make the text as interesting and informative as the photos.

(Interestingly, I know that some people do NOT even read the text. They just glance at the photo and leave an insignificant comment. So, it's nice to know that Steemians such as yourself actually look at the photos closely, read the text, and leave an interesting comment. Much appreciated.)

I am always your big fan. As a writer myself, I enjoy reading fine writings such as yours and, frankly, seeing the images which colour the writings.

What makes your pictures adorable, for me, is the way you capture ordinary people and transmorgrify them into extraordinary beings; how you capture familiar people and make us see the strange circumstances of their life.

I look forward to more shots from your enigmatic camera lens. Regards.

I am honoured to read your compliment. As you do, I take pride in my compositions, in each and every word that I write.

And when and if others enjoy my writing or find it interesting or beneficial, I am very pleased.

Your statement about my photos comes close to describing what I actually attempt to do with my photo posts. That is, capture a bit of reality in a photo, and enhance the reality by relating a short anecdote about the scene.

Like Bob Marley once said, "Open your eyes!" While he added the phrase "Look within" (a statement which I support and agree with totally), a prime message of my photo posts is "Open your eyes. Look around! And look at this!"

I'm glad you're looking, and I'm glad you like what you see and what you read.

Thanks for your compliment.

It is my pleasure, a very big pleasure. Thanks for your upvotes and support. I appreciate.

Okay, I saw a picture of it when my friend went there last November. The usual street art when you say “Penang” that can be seen on Instagram, yours is different at least.

Yes, the older street art in Georgetown is painting. This newer wrought iron sculpture is only about 10 years old, I believe.

A decade is old enough. 😊

They do indeed resemble graffiti.
Looking baddass.. Must have taken a hell lot of a work.

Ya, apparently it's a design company or so that does them. Clearly, not just some kids with a can of spray paint!

Yeah, thought it could be something like that... a Marketing Stunt of sorts.
Cheers

I haven't seen this kind of 3D graffiti before..! 🤗

its great to know tht a city is known and recognized by UNESCO because of this amazing arts..! 🙌
hope to see more of them snapped by u in this series of blog posts....!
Happy clicking..! 📷

~Greetings from Tennis Girl 🎾🎾

Ya, I've never seen 3-D graffiti either. Clearly it's not done by typical graffiti artists, but it is unique and interesting.

yeah..! they r surely r talented people..! 🙌👌

I went to penang and I really love walking to the streets, while bumping again and again into new pieces of art. It makes a walk lots more innteresting, and it is a good workout before trying the delicious food! Did you try the masala dosai or laksa? That are definitely my favorites!

This is completely unrelated, but if you want to help me to win the beer saturday contest, please upvote my comment in the post here! https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@detlev/win-from-15-sbd-in-prizes-steemit-beersaturday-challenge-week-37-calls-all-steemians-to-join
angkor.jpg

Done!

Thank you!

Anything in support of beer, and to promote beer drinking. :-)

Fascinating. I too thought that the graffiti is scribbled on the wall. Amazing work

Oh, I like graffiti very much, the amazing street art!
Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42