You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Roger Federer is the undisputed G.O.A.T (Greatest Of All Time)

in #tennis6 years ago

One more thing about head-to-head..

Like you say, anything can happen on any day. Or luck/variance, in other words.

You can correct me if I'm wrong, but it feels like there's much less variance on clay. If you're the better player, you'll more routinely win. (Whereas on fast courts, it's more reduced to those few bang-bang moments of having a chance to break.)

So from wiki:

Nadal leads on clay (13–2) while Federer has the edge on both hard courts (11–9) and grass (2–1).

That seems more or less kind of what you could expect.

Roger could maybe have won a little more, but it's unfair to expect him to dominate fast surfaces as easily as Nadal dominates clay.

So I think Nadal's edge in H2H is often overblown because of that, how the variance is different.

Sort:  

Haha I just read this after quoting the same stats on other surfaces. Glad we are on the same page.

In addition I always like to bring into play the length of the grass court season (arguably Federers best surface) where there are no Masters 1000 tournaments yet clay season has 3 Masters.
I don't think this is fair to the head to head and the tournament titles either, which is why I discount them and focus on the No.1 spot, the only we we can truly decide as it covers all surfaces.

In addition I always like to bring into play the length of the grass court season (arguably Federers best surface) where there are no Masters 1000 tournaments yet clay season has 3 Masters.

oh wow, I didn't know that. I wonder why. I can see elongating the clay season a little, since it's most dissimilar from other surfaces, but that's weird that it's 3 and 0 for grass.

I wonder if a part of it is to keep the image of Wimbledon more special, like there aren't even any other kind of important grass tournaments lol

I don't know the answer if I am honest. Grass is just as unique and the only thing I can think is that in the 50's most tennis was Grass and they tried to gear away from that and in the process they lost a chunk of the season by trying to change it and now there's very little left......just a thought.

@full-measure Feel free to resteem the article. Would be great to see some other opinions.....assuming they share our view. Haha

Did it. You def deserve some eyeballs on this, we'll see if I can attract any 👀

👀👀👀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55981.35
ETH 2368.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35