Because I’m A Woman......

in #tennis6 years ago

Poor sportsmanship of the year award nominee for Serena Williams while losing the us open final tonight to the young talented Naomi Osaka.

67E2C4D3-5736-4A3B-8643-BE6C9B0B059F.jpeg

Serena successfully stole the spotlight with a big outburst after being called for a mysterious coaching/signaling violation, that was not explained in detail.

3D7908FA-2CEE-4A47-83A8-3476F5D7C1CC.jpeg

She aggressively demanded apologies from the ref & for him to take back his accusations of cheating...

4F98EB89-24E6-45CF-A952-E5EAC2771A25.jpeg

Williams then destroys her racket & gets penalized, so she freaks out some more, calling the ref a thief & trying to bigtime him into giving in. The ref then penalized her for verbal abuse & Williams became even more upset. She appealed to the court officials, & when she didn’t get her way she said it’s because I’m a woman, many times.

After Naomi Osaka won the match fair and square, the two exchanged an awkward hug & then Williams appeared to shoulder check Osaka a little... wasn’t too aggressive, but definitely noticeable

51F9EA84-F782-40DA-907E-338C6FE90BE4.jpeg

Maybe there is some tennis history with Serena I don’t know about, but bringing gender into the meltdown was a low. But being a terrible loser is one of the reasons she became so good.

0EDCDF99-16CC-4DD2-AFF7-C9449522BAB7.jpeg

Congratulations to the 20 year old Osaka! She didn’t let all the drama break her rhythm. I guess tennis is interesting every once in awhile.

“For me, when I step on the court, it’s just about tennis.”

Naomi Osaka

Sort:  

the warning for "coaching" was really strange.
but Serena had no reason to freak out like she did.

Was waiting for her to scream DONT YOU KNOW WHO I AM???!!!

I consider myself a feminist, but I don't understand why she said that it's "because I'm a woman", I mean her opponent is female too. I didn't really understand what she was complaining about and how she lost that point. I'm not a tennis expert lol...but seems she is a bad loser to me

She was trying to say male tennis players say much worse to the officials with no penalties.

What was weird is she said OTHER male players say much worse, both on the court & during the press conference. I never really thought of Serena being trans before that comment, but found her choice of words interesting, then of course found a bunch of videos claiming she was born a male.

Not so sure about the trans thing, but she definitely appeared to be a terrible loser, I would not put cheating past her.

She mentioned the women’s dress code in the press conference as a reason she was making a stand for fairness in tennis, after a player was penalized for taking her shirt off on the court to flip it around. She also had her catsuit banned from the tournament, but no excuse for the behavior

ah yes, I see...maybe the ref just doesn't like her and therefore treated her like that. Hard to tell what's fair in this case...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63835.35
ETH 2630.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82