Ten Facts and One Lie: try and guess / work out / spot the false statement about barge!

in #tenfactsonelie7 years ago (edited)

Hey friends, a little bit of fun here! I came across @amariespeaks' post with her delightful and entertaining entries and was inspired to put a list together myself... From what I can trace (little, originally unintended pun coming up :) back, this was originally started by @traciyork; so credit, thanks and an invitation to guess go out to her! Ideas for wording and presentation come from @amariespeaks.

  • There are 10 statements on the list that are true. One statement is a lie
  • The lie could be any one of these 11 items
  • One entry per person please

If you'd like to read through and guess which statement is a wee porky (sorry pigs, unintended slur), just leave me a comment with the number of your selection. I'll reveal the answer once this post reaches the 7-day no-edit point.

No big bucks here, but I'll very gladly transfer 0.5 SBD to the first person who guesses my lie correctly. If there is more than one correct entry I may be able to add a little bit more to this prize fund - which kinda makes me feel like an Old Hindi teacher we had at school, who used to offer a 'half-toffee' to anyone who would answer his question correctly :D

Thanks for participating and interacting (or just reading)- that's what this is about really. Good luck!
🚣

10truths1lie.jpg

10 true statements and 1 lie:

  1. I used to be married to someone who had the same birthday as me
  2. I once got a telling-off from Pundits (Priests) in a temple because I blew out the 'eternal flame' that had been burning there since 'the beginning of time'
  3. In the mid-late 1980s, my sister and I used to travel to school (250-300 km from home) by Steam Train
  4. I like to sit in the woods on my lunch break from work, and smoke a joint
  5. I have a little 125cc motorbike which I love dearly and have had for over 10 years - longer than my marriage :D
  6. I didn't know what a tampon was until I was 25 years old
  7. My initials, if taken as numerical values (A=1, B=2 etc), are identical to my date of birth
  8. I was once detained for a couple of hours by Russian police in a suburb of Moscow because I looked like a Georgian national and was therefore suspect!
  9. One of the sub-conscious beliefs I had about myself used to be: if I don't get my own way, I am worthless
  10. I used to be cricket obsessed. I once spent 25 days over a 6 or 7-week period, watching India vs England matches for 8 hours per day – 200 odd hours in total!
  11. At the time of writing, my hair - below shoulder length - is done up in two symmetrical pig-tails which I proudly wore about town for the first time ever just yesterday :D

poetry-lineBreak.jpg
In keeping the spirit of the game going, I am tagging a few Steemians whose LIE I'd quite like to guess 🔆 🔆 🔆
@camuel | @realtreebivvy | @jakeybrown | @wanderlass | @futuremind
@guntotnhippie | @richreeve | @mckeever | @artibeus | @howiemac

If you'd like to go for it:

  • Post 10 facts and 1 lie about yourself
  • Invite people to guess (one per person)
  • Offer a prize (SBD, an upvote, comment, or resteem, or whatever you fancy)
  • Wait until the post payout to reveal the correct answer
  • Use the tag #tenfactsonelie as one of your five
  • If you like it and wanna, tag some friends to do their own!
Sort:  

This is soooo difficult. All look interesting and I know you have had several interesting experiences in your life and have traveled a lot. Have to make a wild guess, #4. Although smoking a joint during lunch break sounds like fun (especially that it's illegal in my country). :D

Hmmm, yeah, illegal stuff is usually the good stuff they wanna keep us from doing eh? :D Thanks for your wild guess/deduction, we shall indeed find out if barge is crazzzzzzzzzzy enough for that 😱

Really curious, looking forward to the moment of truth...err lie! :D

I love this! So glad you played along - nice meme ;-) my voting power is down to nothing right now but I'll be back later to give you a worthy upvote.

My guess (in spirit of your rational deduction in my post) will be #6 - how could you go that long in life without hearing about tampons? LOL my son found them in the bathroom cupboard and thought they were dynamite sticks.. hahah

Wahaha your son is funny @amariespeaks :D Must be tough to explain what it is to a kiddo!

hahaha I left it at "This is not a toy - they're for girls only - don't worry about why just leave them in the cupboard please." not trying to explain it just yet ;-)

Lol I bet the mommy and son conversation would be longer if you tried to explain it. :D

LOL at the bathroom cupboard drama :D... hmmm indeed, the seeming impossibility of the duration of this ignorant state-of-affairs suggests that there may be impeccable logic in the conclusion you have drawn O' @amariespeaks, pity we have to wait so long to find out 😌

Thanks again for inspiring this, I'm really enjoying the light-heartedness of it!

lol yes, this is very fun! can't wait to see the lie! ;-)

Hey there Barge, nice list, I’m guessing nr 3 is false! I hope so atleast, otherwise that was a really long route to school!

LOL, I'll let you know soon enough :D

A concise and succinct selection of magic number '7'........indeed sir we shall see if thy light flutter of alighting on this humble page bringeth success......7 indeed is the number of days to wait in order to find out!

Nice way to build up the tempo.

I will guess #1. What fun!!! I did my own post about this yesterday. Love reading the guesses!

Thank you Peggy - #1 too much of a coincidence eh? We'll find out :D ......I'll go over and check your list.
Cheers
🚣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79