Snapper Soup for Tendollartuesday

I'm buying Bitcoin on this rainy #tendollartuesday. It is also a good time for a bowl of Creole Turtle Soup.

I got together with some friends on Saturday to try eating a snapping turtle for the first time. One friend has a son who loves fishing and hunting. His most recent catch was a 28 pound snapping turtle. Our other friend is an accomplished home chef who was willing to host an impromptu dinner party.

It fell to me to help our young hunter kill and butcher his turtle. Our only preparation was a You Tube video on the subject.

I'm here to tell you that butchering a turtle on a hot July day is huge amount of work. It isn't for squeamish people either. Turtles are primitive animals and for some reason they keep moving for hours after you've removed their heads.

When I was a boy we caught a turtle on a fishing trip and the adults told us that they would cook it if we butchered it. We wanted to try, but none of us had the courage to kill it so we let it go. I've always regretted that decision and this was my chance to set it right.

Cheers, Professor Bromide

Check out @Homesteaderscoop for all kinds of sustainable handmade goods. I have some whole comb pressed honey up there, plus beeswax, and a maybe a little propolis.

Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Hi @professorbromide!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.158 which ranks you at #3293 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 3292).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 267 contributions, your post is ranked at #71.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey @professorbromide! I just purchased a "Pirate Archer" card from you and it never came through to my deck. I asked @steemmonsters about it as well. Hope you're having a good weekend.

It is still in my deck and is still for sale. Steemmonsters didn't transfer the STEEM to me, either. Let me know what they tell you.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's odd. Well at least I have the txid. Same thing happened after I purchased another card right after yours so it's probably a glitch with their system. Thanks again! I'll keep you posted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94