NZ Adventure - Wrist Tendinitis

in #tendinitis6 years ago

Let's start

Today I decided write about my trip in New Zealand. I was thinking maybe to write about the places I’ve visited or the kiwi’s culture... but just realised my wrist tendinitis I’ve been with me most of the time I’ve been here so It deserves to write about it.

"La Maga" (me) as a white-collar worker who left her comfortable job office in Mexico pursuing the backpacker dream in the furthest country in the world. She thought this trip could be the opportunity to try new experiences and indeed: afterward she arrived in Auckland, and a friend invited her to work in the service industry as a pink-collar worker, it was something totally new area for her, hospitality!.She was very excited learning everything but as the tasks were totally different from to spend eight hours in front of the screen to carry plates, one day she started to feel pain in the left writst but as her contract was only for three months and only one month was left, she did not care too much about the pain. This is how the story starts.

When the month ended I took a rest for one month and nothing happened the pain was there, I started to realise something serious. First she started to google information and she found it was ‘DeQuervain's tenosynovitis’ just by performed a specific test called Finkelstein's test, where you make a fist and the wrist is pulled away from the thumb, almost made her cry.

finkelsteintest.jpg

What’s wrist tendinitis? it's a common condition characterised by irritation and inflammation of the tendons around the wrist joint.

At the beginning I ordered a wrist support to avoid to move it and some anti-inflammatory medicament and I felt some relief but the next day again pain then I realised I did not really Immobilised it. The wrist it so difficult to do not move it unfortunately we use the wrist for everything.

It has been passed 8 months since I that.

But some good things came out of bad times, these months I have changed my yoga practice for meditation. I must admit it really helped me to stop my agitation - it made me more comfortable in my own skin. Also I have learned to be more patience and carefully with my body.

At the moment I am in physiotherapy treatment, taking homeopathic, ice packing 2-3 times a day, massaging and using Electrotherapy (TENS) . I hope one day will be able to recover my yoga practice.

Homeopathic: Ruta Graveolens,Rhus Tox and Arnica.

Correct position for TENS:

I hope you never get tendinitis, take care, prevent it, look your wrist position when you are using the mouse, stretch your hands and arms.

Maga

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66650.28
ETH 3590.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.96