Tempeh Spores

in #tempeh7 years ago (edited)

Happiness is .................. a eureka moment!!!

spores.png

Finally, two small mounds of tempeh spores. To almost all people, it is just five spoonful of dirt. But, for me, it is the mounds of happiness and satisfaction; completing something I started more than two years ago. I can now rub my hand in glee and said: “I did it”. Simple things please simple minds, I supposed (giggle, giggle).

Back then, I spent many months trying in vain to grow and harvest tempeh spores. I picked up where I left off some three months back. The reward is the two small heaps, one has a slightly darker shade. This indicates it has less substrate and more spores. So that will be my next challenge, to reduce substrate even more. But, it can wait till the feeling good wears off.

Tempeh starter is made using a different method. Yes, the spores can be used as tempeh starter, but it is costly.

Just for general information, tempeh starter uses mould from genus Rhizopus. The two prominently varieties found in tempeh are R. Oryzae and R. Oligosporus. Genus Rhizopus used for tempeh production is edible and do not produce any known toxins. Temper is among the world's healthiest food. But, it is cheap and easy to make.

NB
I have been making tempeh as a hobby for a great many years ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66847.77
ETH 3497.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89