Tell your story contest - Outhori5ed

in #tellyourstory7 years ago

This is a very interesting contest where i get to tell my journey so far as a Steemian. Please enjoy.

df7951b86f98e2174e86ce1004001077.png

LIFE BEFORE STEEMIT
I work with an armouring company in Lagos Nigeria and we turn passenger vehicles from ordinary to a level B6 bulletproof vehicle. Depending on the choice of the customers, it can be either a partial armouring or a complete one. It is a very interesting line of business and desires your 100% tact to successfully get the job done. Not only do you need to present a good job at every stage that will stand the test, you also need to be careful not to get injured in the process. It is a very tedious job as you must ensure that not even a figure space is open to permit bullet penetrating the vehicle. When I am not working, I am either reading or writing. I write a lot, poem, stories, articles etc. I have published some poems with all poetry and also published some of my articles on some journals. Steemit is giving me value for writing which is what I was missing before Steemit.

HOW I WAS INTRODUCED TO STEEMIT
When @ejemai saw some of my works, he was marveled and he asked if I was getting paid for the publications and also asked how I would feel should I begin to receive rewards for writing. ‘Just writing’ I asked and he took his time to explain Steemit to me. I loved the idea and within two days, I was on Steemit and I wrote my first post on Jun 29, 2017.

WHO INTRODUCED ME HERE (MENTION HIM - IF POSSIBLE)
I was introduced by @ejemai and I must confess that I am grateful he introduced me to Steemit as at the time he did. Maybe, if I had known about it early, it would have made more sense, but knowing at the time I did is making me realize how Steemit is more than just a community where people can make a few cash, but a community that is capable for changing a generation of young people to be financially independent and creative.

MY CHANNEL TOPIC
My most recent topic is on fact especially about Nigeria, health and other issues. I especially write on motivation and interesting in news and poetry too.

HOBBIES AND INTERESTS
Mine hobbies and interests includes reading, writing, traveling, researching, playing games and public speaking. I also spend time with family as a major interest because family comes first. I am very adventurous and I love dating adventure and visiting historic sites and enjoying other fun activities.
IMG-20170627-WA0093.jpg
WhatsApp Image 2017-07-01 at 09.30.29(3).jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2017-07-01 at 09.27.10(1).jpeg

BEST AND WORST EXPERIENCES HERE
After some post in steemit, I felt like steemit was not the place to be. The reason is because, it didn’t get long before sensing that there the community is centralized on a specific groups (my opinion). More like, people just vote themselves in a particular cycle and allow to flow of rewards to remain there. Then I had a conversation with someone who was very mean to say the least and his response was enough to drive me out of steem. I then wrote a piece on self-doubt, and @majes gave the post a boost and encouragement. That was a great experience and a motivation that has kept me steeming. After her, some post did well and some did ‘well’ and within a month my followers grew to over 200 people and this has been really encouraging. To simplify, I will say worst experience was that guy who almost ran me out of steemit and my best experiences so far, is the daily reception I receive, the new friends I meet, the boost I get by random steemians and the things I get to learn daily.

LIFE AFTER STEEMIT
Life after Steemit? Well, to be candid I haven’t pictured that. I read a post and the author stated that he left his job for steemit and he is been steeming and enjoying himself. Another, a 71year old talked about getting his daily bread and the roof over his head from steeming. Though I am yet to receive a payment, but the testimonies are encouraging enough and I am sure I will always like to steem as long as I can share a post and read a blog.

banner.png
outhori5ed

Sort:  

This is a very nice piece @outhori5ed. I feel motivated at this. Thanks for sharing and good luck in the contest.

thanks alot for your comment. it means alot

nice article. I know you have what it takes to keep doing what you enjoy doing. Keep it up, success is the only way out!

thank you @ejemai. my being here is because of your effort and i am happy with the #project20millionnaija that you are powering. thanks for all you do

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by outhori5ed from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.78
ETH 3089.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48