The last forest is mine

I am home again.

It took me some time to find it but it all was still there.
Exactly the way I remembered it.
Wolf waited for me. He still looked young and jumped for joy.

"I am so happy to see you back", I said.

He smiled as usually.

"There you are, time traveler. It is a good thing you gave us all the time in the world before you left."

"It is a relief to be back home. The world is no longer what it once was. It all became grey and so sad. No trees, no plants, not one bird in the sky, no animals left."

"You mean we are the last survivors?"

"It looks like that. I did not find a single trace of life."

Together we walked through the forest and enjoyed its colors and smell.
For the first time since ages, I felt glad I am a witch. I managed to save some forest, our home. No one would ever hurt us or hunt for us again. We were the only ones left, the survivors. Mankind had lost.
We would stay and live happily ever after in the last forest on earth.
The forest people said the didn't need to stay alive.

the picture is a pixabay.com pic

If you like to join this contest

Read HERE for further information or read the great stories written by other Steemians.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Once they gone.. the last forest would lost from earth too.. but who cares? As long as there is a forest.. breath and enjoy it till your heart content😊

The last forest was lost for earth and humankind long before I guess.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wonderful short for the #tellmeastory. So many times, I associate reading with music; in my younger days, I loved reading fantasy/fiction stories, while listening to music...

For this story you've created,
I would choose this song:

Thank you for reading, commenting and the song 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Most welcome! I hope you enjoyed the song... love Steven Wilson and Porcupine Tree!!

I did and saved it 💖

Posted using Partiko Android

Good to hear :)

I'll then share one more of my favorites. The rest of the journey I'll leave to you... thanks again for the comments.

Thanks again. I send you this one

Posted using Partiko Android

Regards appreciated @wakeupkitty.

I think that once we mature we see things from another perspective.

Returning home after a long time, it will surely bring us many joys.
But also sadness. Because those colors that filled our eyes when children no longer have the same radiance. We do not perceive smells the same, or at least they do not represent the same in our psyche.

Everything is part of life, part of growing and maturing.

Maybe many of us will yearn to be children again.

All best, Piotr.

With your comment, you exactly hit the point.

Hopefully, we all will learn to be children again soon, not at the time Alzheimer takes over.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sweet short story. Enjoyed how the forest saved them.

This is such a bittersweet tale, returning home, and everything looking the same, yet it is not, for the world has changed. The sadness is mixed with the joy of homecoming, of finding beloved Wolf waiting, and of walking through the forest with a sense of appreciation, enjoying the sights and smells. There is often so much memory contained in a smell, it really carries the emotion. The line about her being glad she is a witch, for the first time in ages brings this story to a more personal level. It has a sense of self acceptance, the character here also feels a bit like an embodiment of nature, hounded and hunted by mankind, finally able to look forward to a life without that. The way you end this, tying the happiness of the witch, wolf and the forest, against the loss of humanity, really brings a sense of peace to this. Beautiful <3

Thank you very much for your great comment. I am happy and grateful you mentioned the which and the peace she finally found.

💥 and 💖

Posted using Partiko Android

@wakeupkitty, I read your text like a poem, trying to unravel the center of a metaphor. The situation is poignantly sad: The witch is glad that she and Wolf are the last. That says a lot about how bad men are.
Your text is beautiful, though.

The which is finally glad to be a witch and the witch hunt is over, just like the killing of animals. She was able to save a part of the world: the last wood.
Sad it is indeed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99