You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Super Blue (or, What Keeps On Floating)

Very beautiful! I really like your prose, it's very "realistic", as if it were really the words of this "trashonaut".
I was fascinated by the naturalness with which you make worldbuilding in the middle of the speech.
Another thing that has impressed me is the ecological message. What you draw could be very close to our real near future. Your story is a very smart and funny way to make people think and raise awareness.
We hope to be able to face climate change and the necessary change in our way of life with positivity and hope, even if not sweetened, that emerges from your story!

Sort:  

Thank you for reading, @marcoriccardi!

I think a lot about plastics ... we try hard in San Francisco to control our plastic use and recycle, but if there were massive sea level rise, there would just be no ordinary way to deal with the problem because so much plastic is already out there. I also think about what it would take to make my home country stop acting crazy around race -- it would take a disaster about this big. Yet I wasn't trying to be too grim -- I laughed as I was writing parts of it, and I'm glad that came through!

Well...I worry a lot about climate change and waste management too. When in Italy I see another too dry and hot winter gone, followed by a cloudburst spring and a non-summer with a hailstorm every week, I'm very very worried!
I don't know if we're still on time, or even if we ever had the power, to do something for it, but still the vast majority of people don't think this is the main problem...

Unfortunately, the urgent always crowds out the important... I pick up after myself, do my writing after peak hours in to save energy, and put out writing like this as an engaging and gentle but memorable warning... so, we can do what we can do..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59653.51
ETH 2353.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47