A Handmaid’s Tale conspiracy on RuPaul’s Drag Race All-Stars 3 full of scandal and danger

in #television7 years ago (edited)

We're talking authoritarianism, espionage, and obviously a dystopian society built on the crumbling past of a doomed civilization.

2018-02-14_1155.png

OK, not quite. But, for those that have been watching Drag Race All-Stars Season 3 and know the Drag Race world, there is one red herring: Bebe Zahara Benet.

RPDR Season 1 winner who got her drag career started in Minneapolis, Bebe is the only winner of the past seasons to return for an All-Star season and she's joined the cast of AS3. You’d be right to think, well, this is par for the course with the producers of World of Wonder and RuPaul trying to keep us interested. However, a conspiracy theory has risen in the depths of social media--first by Chris White--and there's something to it.

Bebe is a secret agent and Ru’s mole. Or, in the language Handmaid’s Tale, there’s an Eye in your house, Offred.

2018-02-14_1407.png

Since Bebe walked on set on episode one, I've been fuming thinking to myself so much for the Winners All-Star season. But now, not all hope is lost.

Here's the theory: Bebe will skate through as safe for all of the challenges and make it through each episode. And as we’ve seen from her performance--which may be deliberate on her part, or she may really be rusty--she’s barely getting by. She'll make it to the final episode, not having to lip-sync once and never being in the bottom two.

She'll then help decide who’s our winner, baby.

She’s the only one to have seen all of the queens’ behavior behind-the-scenes, off-camera and will provide the insight that only someone in the competition can know. This theory also justifies the bizarre appearances of Alaska and Chad Michaels in their absurd Handmaid’s Tale red.

But why Bebe? Here’s where I’ll add my own nuance to the theory…

I think it's precisely because there will be a Winner’s All-Star season--and Bebe’s not ready for it. Bebe is easily the least known Drag Race winner from any season. Since her win, she’s really flown under the radar. So, World of Wonder and RuPaul are smart, and are smart about things like ratings. Bebe needs this reappearance on All-Stars 3 to build up her clout and followership with a newer and younger audience that really doesn't know who she is. Then, when she makes her big return to the Winners All-Star season she’ll be much more relevant than she is today.

Currentwinners.jpg

As I write this, I'm sure that RuPaul is changing her strategy. World of Wonder is crafty and is likely on to us being on to them. Who knows what twists and turns the season will bring? But, I'm excited for the ride. And, I'm hopeful for a Winners All-Stars season in 2020.

xoxo,
Belle Bottoms
@missbellebottoms

PS: A solution for family values, literacy, and digestive health. Become a drag queen.

Sort:  

I’m not sure I completely understand here but I haven’t been watching the current season and now I definitely want to. Not sure if that was the intention or not. Haha.

Haha, yes, exactly! It's really worth watching. Long story, they added Bebe to the cast last minute and it makes no sense since she's already won. Plus they're adding this weird Handmaid's tale subplot that hasn't revealed itself yet. I'll leave it at that. It's on tonite!

OMG so much catching up to do!

Ooh, I knew I was missing foreshadowing from not having watched/read handmaid's, and I was unaware that Bebe was a late add. Having watched the first three episodes without this information, I will support your theory of the why Bebe would be an appropriate queen to bring back. Whether by design or not, she has been underwhelming/safe...which admittedly I chalked it up to her being more pageant style posing queen without much comedy.

I am ready to be Snatched tonight!!! ;*

Hold on to your hair!

I missed it!! They were replaying on the same night the first couple of weeks but not this one :( I will have to catch it on demand (not) soon (enough).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65