NETFLIX: What to Watch This Weekend!

in #television7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2942.JPG

Here are my 5 NETFLIX shows to watch this weekend!

1). What The Health (documentary)- Never want to look at food the same way? Then this is for you! This Netflix film examines the link between what we are eating and the diseases we are getting. Keep in mind this is from the producers of Cowspiracy so unless you are Vegan, this is a bit of a shocku-docu. As a journalism major in college, I would urge you to take this with a grain of salt and do some of your own research before believing everything you watch, or feeling entirely guilty like I did.

2). Dear White People (comedy)- This series focuses on an Ivy League college and the students, black and white, and how they navigate discrimination and racial tensions. I think the acting is great, the comedy is on point, and I found the serious topics covered in a smart and sophisticated matter.

3). Gypsy (drama thriller)- Starring Naomi Watts as Jean Holloway, a therapist who oversteps (heck leaps over) normal boundries and immerses herself into the personal lives of her patients. I really liked this aspect of the show, it is intriguing and dangerous and by the end of the season you really start to see what kind of dark and reckless person Jean is.

4). American Anarchist (documentary)- This documentary looks at the life (and sometimes regrets) of William Powell, the author of the controversial and infamous book The Anarchist Cookbook. It is definitely interesting to hear him tell his story and also see where he is now, and how he feels about the book so many years later.

5). Ozark (crime drama) – This comes out Friday! It stars Jason Bateman as a financial advisor from Chi-Town who relocates his family to the Missouri Ozarks so he can launder money for a cartel boss. Looking forward to seeing Bateman in this serious role. Should be good!

Hope you enjoy! Leave a comment below 👇 on any that you suggest I catch this weekend!

(image source: www.digitaltrends.com, all trailers sourced from YouTube.com)

Sort:  

maybe Amazon Prime? so you can watch Preacher. Its Hella GOOD

Thank you! Saw the trailer for this one and it looks good!

Just finished 13 Reasons Why, thought it was pretty good. Also have been watching Orange is the New Black since it started, really liked this past season with the riot. I'd recommend both of these shows.

Oh ya I did 13 Reasons Why in a few days! I thought it was good too, though my coworkers had mixed reviews. I also need to get back into OITNB, haven't watched since season 2!

Gipsy noted!

Let me know what you think!

Ooo I think I'm going to watch that American Anarchist right now.
I love show suggestions and reviews.

Thank you very much! Hope you find it as interesting as I did!

That was a very interesting film. I didn't like the guys attitude of not taking any responsibility. But still interesting non the less.
A very good documentary I just finished watching was called "The Defiant Ones". It's about Dr.Dre and Jimmy Lovine. Definitely worth watching.

Yes, I felt the same! You can tell in moments he had regret but also it felt like he was very far from the content he had written so he couldn't identify with that person or show full remorse. Thanks for the rec, I will check it out!!

Great list of shows and great writeup.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57393.77
ETH 2439.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33