Preacher [my favorite comic book/graphic novel turned television]

in #television7 years ago

PREACHER GRAPHIC NOVEL SERIES CONTINUES ADAPTS WELL TO TELEVISION UNDER AMC

I am a huge fan of comic books and graphic novels. Ever since I was a boy and my dad came back from egypt with a myriad of spiderman and the hulk comics. In 2010 AMC turned robert kirkman and charlie adlards "The Walking Dead" Into and awesome and incredibly popular tv show that is still to this day being produced, over seven years after its pilot. I believe that this is in part due to the original source material, the novels fanbase starting the show of strong, and a clear and respectful adaptation where the stories author has producer authority of the show.

AMC took this awesome formula to heart after the walking deads success and last year began airing a reproduction of my favorite Vertigo Comics series "Preacher".

Preacher's source material is about a newly "reborn" man of God, Jesse, with a past colored with sin. Preachers life is turned upside when his congregation are all killed in some kind of holy event that gives him a super power; Jesse now has "Genesis" or the voice of God and can now talk anyone into doing anything. Jesse uses this power to try and reach God, but no one in heaven can find him. So Jesse goes on a quest to find god and ":kick his ass"

Jesse is joined on his adventures by his ex-girlfriend and partner in crime in their former life Tulip and an Irish hard drinking and drug abusing vampire; who needs to satiate his thirst for blood, drugs and sex daily. The group is chased by a killer "demon" character of sorts who is invulnerable to bullets and basically murders most everyone in the way.

The AMC adapter has Seth Rogan as a head producer and you can certainly feel his dark but comedic influence, which is in the source material but I was worried it wouldn't translate well on the screen. I'm the second episode in on this season but so far AMC and Rogan have knocked it out of the park, really hitting all my expectations and more. Heres to another great season of my favorite show!


Enjoy the tutorial? For more mk and brains1ck.tv:
💀 Follow me on Steemit 💀💀💀💀
💀 Subscribe to our Youtube 💀💀💀💀
💀 Tweet at us onTwitter 💀💀💀💀
Questions? Want to join the team? Email me at [email protected]


Thanks for reading steamia~
~mk

Sort:  

Great show. I was hooked after watching a couple of episodes last year.

Hell yeah, I was just introduced to it this week and have been hooked. Such a cool concept. Have you watched/read Lucifer?

Yeah @hoss403 if you love the show then I highly reccomend the comic series. I know that they have a compendium type with the whole "All Saints Killer" arc on it for less than 30 dollars. It is like the first 30 issues of the series, I'm sure its on amazon. I also digitally bought the series last year to re-read it because all my old books are still at my dads

I definitely need to get that. Thanks.

You are welcome man! I have an article on getting your avatar uploaded as well if you are struggling with that.

Mannn ive been hooked on this. I haven't read the comics, but the show is great so far. The cinematography is well done. Some great single shots. Cassidy is my favorite so far haha.

Thanks for the write up on it

I hope Eugene returns from hell.

Me too~ This past weeks episode has eugene in it but i won't spoil what happens~!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56796.26
ETH 2497.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23