The Math Class and the Math Subject, What Is the Difference?

in #technology3d5 years ago (edited)

The Math Class and the Math Subject, What Is the Difference_.png

As I'm writing this, I heard many people talking about the ongoing NBA conference. I can't remember the last time I watch a full game of NBA. The best I can remember is when LeBron James is still playing for Miami Heat — that was quite a long time ago! For now, I'm watching through the highlights video versions on YouTube. With this, I can somehow relate to people talking about the NBA plays. Then, I will get little knowledge of the whos and the whats of the latest updates.

So, what does the NBA have to do with math class? math subject? A lot.

In my years of schooling, it is cool to say, "math is tough." It was unpopular to say "I love math." Yet, we used it in ways we didn't always realize. Math is my favorite subject not because I thought I'm good at it. I thought I'm not good at anything — of all the things I'm not good at, I considered math as the subject where I'm the best. Also, because I thought math don't have memorization — a huge mistake.

I haven't answered the question. Yep, my bad.

The Math Class and the Math Subject

I saw many students (including me) dreaded going to math class. Yet, these same students (including me again) will talk endlessly about right stats to make the best character in Ragnarok Online, RAN Online, Khan and many more online games that gamers of my age will only know. When it comes to computer games, I know how to use math.

In my country, the Philippines, it is common to hear people giving their opinions about NBA games. They will give you a bunch of stats. They will tell you mathematical analysis on why this team or that team will win the 2019 championship. Not to mention the never-ending debate of who is the real GOAT. Ask these same people what is the quadratic formula or Laplace Transform, 97% (hey, that's math!) will not talk to you again.

I guess we all love math, some just hate arithmetic and memorizing nonsensical formulas. It is hard to comprehend what is the use of the variables of x, y, and z in our everyday lives. Of course, there are always exemptions. But, for simple mortal beings like most of us, the world is already too complicated to think of the use of Calculus on how to cook or how to fix a washing machine.

Complicated math is already there in Google and Facebook algorithms, smartphone transistors, internet-of-things, artificial intelligence, blockchain, 3D printing and more of unthinkable geeky pieces of stuff. Simple math is enough for people who just need to know what is the best time to commute to avoid traffic. With the right amount of trial-and-error, a glimpse on the clock will do the calculation.

What is the Use of the Lessons of the Math Classes in the Real World?

We are all less than 1% of a speck of dust compared to the universe. So, am I in the real world experience. I will always address my smallness to tell you that what I'm sharing is my truth, but it might not mean the truth for you. But, if this resonates with you, then you are my right reader. The same works with all the words I already written in all my blogs. I will share my two cents anyway.

I almost quit my Algebra as a first-year high school student. I could not memorize that when same signs either of positive or negative numbers multiplied will get you positive sign answer. So, as multiplying negative and positive numbers will give you a negative answer. I thought math was my favorite subject, yet I could not get the basic Algebra lesson.

Despite the struggle, I was able to graduate in high school. Math remains as my favorite subject. I don't know what other subjects to choose from. So I took an engineering course in college. Thus, requires more math.

I continue to struggle (with my classmates) and graduated to college. I then took a national licensure exam, passed the exam (that was a miracle!) and recognized more of a professional engineer. It's nice to put "Engr." before my name, but until now, I felt that title more of a burden than the proud feeling of that four-letter abbreviated word.

I'm not ungrateful. Graduating from college and passing the licensure exams give me a kickstart for my career. I just couldn't find a great connection from the lessons of my math classes to my past real-world jobs.

When I got my first ever job, I felt empowered that finally, I could earn money for myself. Months later, I felt I was fooled all this time. I became an operator, which means turning on and off the machine and report to a more reliable employee if there are technical problems. Silently, I felt confused and ask myself, "what's the purpose of all the math lessons I learned from school? Where is the application of Calculus, Trigonometry and even my college major subjects in turning on and off of a machine?"

So, I taught in a university as a part-time instructor. I thought teaching is the answer so I could use the lessons I learned from college. There I was, a math-struggling teacher teaches math related subjects to college students. This sounds stupid for me, but I felt more stupid doing routine work that almost has nothing to do with the lessons I learned from math classes.

Years later, I realized I just passed my burden to my students. As of this writing, some of my past students who already graduated from college might have asked the same questions themselves:

"What is the use of the lessons of the math classes in the real world?"

Of course, I saw many of them have Facebook posts having the time of their life as successful in their own league. As I said, the truth that applies to me is not for everybody.

From my limited perspective, I observed that most of the students already know what they need to learn to play the game of the real world. At this modern age, the world is changing in a way that traditional schools and universities could not cope up.

I read that in Information Technology and Computer Programming Courses in college, before students graduated, the very lessons students painstakingly learned became obsolete. So, what to do now?

The Only Solution I Could Think Of

I don’t want this blog post to become a rant for the sake of ranting. I want to give some practical actions I believe will work. The only solution I could think of is to never stop learning practical lessons. Never rely only on the lessons of your past math classes. I am also saying all the lessons we learned from traditional schools.

We should all continuously learn to adapt to the rapidly changing world. Also, take note of Google. It is cool to know a lot of things in random subjects, but if you can’t outlearn the internet (which none of us can), then you are as obsolete as the old encyclopedias.

I am not the best person to talk about these things. I don’t have any significant accomplishments to brag. But, if you buy into the idea of continuous learning, then you and I increase the chance of survival in the real world.

Life is more than about barely surviving. We can still enjoy ("love" might be the better word) the process. This is also why we will defeat the storms.

Of course, we need to put to actions of all the lessons we learned. Just knowing is never enough. Make mistakes as part of the lessons. In school, we get better grades with fewer mistakes. The opposite is true in the real world.

I read somewhere, “In school, we get the lessons, then we took the exam. In life, we get the exam, then we took the lessons.”

We all love math. Some, hate math classes. Math is the truth for everyone. “2+2=4” is the same for all of us. We need to widen our views. See, same as the air we breathe, we could not live without it.

Learn continuously. Read books and blogs posts. Watch YouTube videos. Listen to podcasts and audiobooks. Go to workshops. Take an online course. Enroll in a technical school. Get a masters or doctorate degree. Find a community with a common interest. Ask good questions to the right people. Work for someone you respect and will teach you the most.

You can try anything that you think will work for you.

Today, if you have a smartphone and access to the internet, feeling helpless for not knowing the right lessons for you is lame.

We can make the best contribution to the world by being the best versions of ourselves. It will make us the most alive and the happiest. I admit it’s challenging. In my experience, the fear of mistakes and getting an unwanted opinion from other people is crippling. But going back to all we’ve done to what we said to ourselves we will do, we will realize that it’s worth all the efforts.

Give it a shot! You don’t need to be an NBA player. :)

Disclaimer: I don't intend to devalue the teachers and our current educational system. Teaching is one of the noblest jobs in the world. I love my friends who are professional teachers. I also love teaching. I love all the teachers I encountered including the terror types. They teach me in their own unique ways.

There is no substitute for education. But now, there are a lot of options to get educated. A diploma will increase your chance to get decent work, but it will never be a guarantee.


"The Math Class and the Math Subject, What Is the Difference?" was originally posted on 3DWriterPH blog. Go to https:3DWriterPH.Home.Blog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38