Why I hate Windows 10 - time for a disintermediated, decentralized OS

in #technology7 years ago

If you’re using Windows 10, there’s a list of things you should be doing immediately after installation. I only use this environment because I have to.

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 1.22.50 AM.png
(Google Images - Wikimedia Commons)

As a software developer who first started programming in the Windows environment in the mid 90’s, I consider myself to be a sophisticated user. I’ve recently had to disable windows update in Windows 10 because it caused my programming IDE to seize up. So I rolled back the changes and went into the system services and disabled the windows update service. On the surface to the beginner, it doesn’t seem possible to do this as there’s no way to do it within the main control panel. You’ll have to type in “services.msc” which will bring up this console app:

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 1.00.02 AM.png
(screen shot from my desktop)

Right click on the Windows Update service and select properties and on the General tab under “startup type” select “disabled”. I did this twice now and somehow it returns to manual update. Better than automatic, but it still tries to download 5 GB over a metered connection so I had to disable my internet connection to use windows at all. Using the disable metered connection doesn’t work because I have a cable connection which disables the WIFI metered settings.

Then I get the message that “Windows cannot install security updates without the most recent version of Windows 10” and the process starts all over again. So I selected defer updates and then select the date farthest into the future (which is about 3 days). Just long enough for you to forget about it and then spent another 20 minutes going through all this BS again. It’s become a serious waste of productivity.

But it’s worse than that. It reveals an attitude that you don’t matter to them. They will not respect your wishes and do not honor your privacy. With an attitude like this, it makes me wonder if Windows 10 is really set up like a botnet for the NSA to vacuum up all your data.

It's time for a disintermediated, decentralized operating system like EOS or Iota.


Donations (public bitcoin address):
donatebitcoin.png
3FwxQsa7gmQ7c1GXJyvDTqmT6CM3mMEgcv


steemit-footer.png


Sort:  

did you try to block the updates host server in your firewall.

that is very interesting, I am not a software developer by any means, so just curious, in your opinion, how far off are companies such as Iota and EOS from pulling it off and really having a working product or platform for a decentralized OS?

I'm relatively new to blockchain tech (early 2017). My field involves writing astrology software based the Project Hindsight translations. However, Andreas Antonopoulos said that this technology is at about the same stage of development that the internet was in 1992. That video was about a year old. He also said that it's progressing much faster than the internet. I think we'll begin to see significant changes by the early 2020's.

thanks for the answer! 2020 seems like decades away in crypto time lol! But what I love about the blockchain space the most is definitely the innovation and the disruptive nature of it. Can't wait to see what the future holds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62892.68
ETH 2581.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73