Graphic card not working? Try to BAKE it!

in #technology8 years ago

Hello all,

ever tried the feeling when your computer just dont want to start or stuck beeping?

Happened me a month ago. I started to search for reason for failure. First of all I was not sure about my hard drive, but afer some time, I realised, that I don't have picture on my screen!

So Graphis is down? Damnit! I had great GTX670 and it is still woth quite a lot of money. But not as much as repairing it in a store (no warranty :( ). I looked in many forums and find some people writing about baking a graphic card. I was really sceptical about it at first, but than I said to myself - "You are going to destroy it anyway, give it a try". And that is how it begins.

BakingGraphicCardinOven.jpg

GPU cooler was dismantled, all plastic parts removed, GPU cleared. Owen hated on 230°C. OK, now or never.
9 minutes later and it was over. Horrible smell everywhere and I thought it id completly destroyed. 1 hour of cooldown. But I put cooler back on GPU and gave it a try.

And just WOW.. card was working even with stress tests and is Ok till now!!

If you have defected graphic card, you can try it as well!!! It really helpes.
And if you are wondered why, usually these defect are microfractures in electric connection - baking melts these connections and "repair" it. Good luck with your card!!

Sort:  

For those unaware, this supposedly works by melting the solder back together in areas where it may have a broken connection. If baked at the right temperature, it only melts the solder and avoids damaging any other parts.

Relevant video:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50