You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Flying Cars could be a reality by the 2020s (and my thoughts on them)

in #technology7 years ago

Nice article. When self driving cars first started to come out I told my wife "watch, once they become mainstream we will have a lot more people moving out of the city and living upstate (NY) since they will be able to just relax and read the newspaper or go on their iPads during the commute". I thought that with that innovation, not having to be stuck in traffic from eastern Long Island into NYC that a lot more people would start to move to less populated areas especially if you can take a nap while your car is driving you to work. I know if I had that option I would trade in my 5BR house on a half acre on Long Island (~$450,000USD) for 5+ acres in upstate NY or Pennsylvania and a nice log cabin homestead while still being able to work as a Nurse and Professor in either NYC, or any of the other tri-state area city/university's. Flying cars I feel like sounds great but where wil they all land? You will still need the 2D space for parking it if you own one unless they go strictly tide-hailing but at that point, with only 5 seats/passengers, would it have a use outside of a city? What I think would be cool if they just changed the highway system and put in another level of lanes for self driving cars and maybe buses. Idk. Seems cool but looks like it would be hard to manage a lot of them. I am still into the self-driving car idea, I wouldn't mind living two hours outside NYC and sleeping my way to work 😎

Sort:  

Thanks for reading :-)

Well, depending on the range of these things, they could literally land on the rooftop of almost any building. So you could literally land on top of your office. I think the VTOL capability is what really makes this specific flying car pop. The only reason you would need extra infrastructure is if the range wasn't good enough and you had to charge after every trip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44