You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Is IPFS?

in #technology6 years ago

Thanks for this info. I had been wondering about ipfs, but really didn't know where to look... and hadn't taken the time to DuckDuckGo (a better search engine than Google, since it doesn't collect data on you...) it.

  • Am I understanding this correctly?
    It's kind of like bittorrent, in that it spreads the download from many locations. ???
    • Unless you are a content producer, I'm not seeing any incentive to host a ipfs server. What am I missing?
      • Since dtube uses ipfs, isn't there a chance the videos will disappear if no one decides to host them?
  • I've been webmastering aver 20 years, and this sounds good, just may be a bit of a learning curve to figure it out...
    • Thanks in advance for helping me understand @jrswab!
Sort:  

DuckDuckGo (a better search engine than Google, since it doesn't collect data on you...)

I now use searx.me instead of DDG ;)

It's kind of like bittorrent

yes it is similar as far as I am aware.

Unless you are a content producer, I'm not seeing any incentive to host a ipfs server. What am I missing?

No real reason other than wanting to increase decentralization.

Thank for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.46
ETH 2409.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42