You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Tech News - An Exploration of Transhumanism

in #technology6 years ago

Oh man, what a great post! I loved the topic and the way you're writing about it. I simply enjoyed it!

A lot of good questions are asked here, and a lot of good thoughts went through my mind. I was reading this and stopping and thinking about it for a while before I would continue to read :D

One thing I want to address is about living forever. Well, even though I haven't thoroughly still thought about it, I think that I wouldn't want to live forever. I think, knowing that our days will come to an end makes me want to seize this life and make it worthwhile. I know that my time is limited and I want to take it for granted, I want to make the world a better place for our new generations.

I know it is tempting to live forever but if I could choose, I would pick between 250 and 400 years to live. Just so I can try a lot of things haha ;)

Thanks for this great post, really loved it. I will be thinking more about this one and some things you mentioned. Have a great day @techblogger!

Sort:  

Always a pleasure to get feedback from you @whack.science. I'm really pleased to hear that the Socratic approach to inquiry worked to get your head spinning around this topic! I also think that living forever is appealing until you really think deeply about what it would truly mean to live forever. I remember seeing an episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation in which an immortal entity named 'Q' showed the captain of a starship what his immortal world looked like. All he could do was provide a simple metaphor for what it was like when he took the captain to a dusty farm and explained how dull and boring it was and how he'd like to have the chance to die. He showed the captain the scarecrow and mentioned he had even been the scarecrow just to see what it was like. The boredom immortality would have the potential to bring would be its own curse. I agree, 400 to 4500 years will be plenty. That may be the route humanity ends up taking. Thanks a lot for your thoughtful comment. Take care @whack.science!

Time is valuable but it also gives value to other things. As the Queen sings Who wants to live forever, who dares to love forever? So it is not about living only ;)

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55030.03
ETH 2337.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32