Brief Book Review for Humanification: Go Digital, Stay Human 免費書籍 (Kindle: FREE, Paper: $21.45)

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

Initial impression: a well-written book on making technology more human, a refreshing alternative to doom and gloom dystopias. 23 Amazon reviews, 4.7 stars.

BTW, no Kindle is needed: you can read the book on any device using Kindle Cloud Reader (KCR). The only thing you need is a free Amazon account. Unfamiliar words? No problem: KCR includes definitions from the New Oxford American Dictionary. You can also take and save notes within KCR and synchronize your book with any other reading devices you use.

The table of contents shows the range of ideas covered by this book:



[an excerpt from location 339]

When the book starts off, Christian Kromme's daughter was dying, so he decided to try biophoton therapy. This led him into an exploration of other scientific breakthroughs and the establishment of the Humanification Institute, a think tank that helps businesses make best use of emerging technologies.


This is not a crappy Kindle book knocked off in a few hours. My brief glance-though didn't turn up any obvious problems (misspellings, incorrect punctuation, paragraphs that don;t get to the point, high-falutin' vocabulary that obscures). Don't wait to download it: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06XDCT1P4/ (it may not stay free for long).


Who I Am

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@wentong-syhhae/enthusiastic-intp-polyglot

Sort:  

I might just give it a shot. I'm very interested in technology but I despise dystopian thought.
Most if not all 'future tech' works that I'v read in the last two or three decades appear that the author got their technology eduction from hollyweird. I find that to be troubling.

Anyway, it's free and it doesn't even take up space on your bookshelf. Worth skimming, if nothing else. I'm looking forward to a good read.

did you say FREE?
(I've got several thousand ebooks...you're right..they don't take up a lot of room)
I missed the part about it being free.
got it.
it's on 'cloud', my mac and my IPhone..

Ok...I read it.
Oddly enough I didn't learn too much new.
He put it in a different format though. I found his comparison of technological progress and biological evolution to be pretty interesting.

He WAS optimistic..finally. I get so damn tired of nattering naboobs of negativism.

He sure did repeat himself a lot. He musta said the same thing thirty different times..

I wish he'd spent more time on hardware. I, personally, think that smart matter is going to be a 'thing' real soon . now...it and VR/AR will change things beyond recognition. He mentioned graphene briefly but didn't even touch on smart matter.

Good read! Worth the price.

I've only skimmed it so far, but I would have appreciated clearer (the 7 Waves graphic, for example, was much too small to read easily) and more abundant graphics.

As you mentioned, the price was right :-)

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81