Our Love Affair With Digital Is Over

in #technology7 years ago

Many of us bought into the fantasy that digital made everything better. We surrendered to this idea, and mistook our dependence for romance, until it was too late.

Today, when my phone is on, I feel anxious and count down the hours to when I am able to turn it off and truly relax. The love affair I once enjoyed with digital technology is over — and I know I’m not alone.

Ten years after the iPhone first swept us off our feet, the growing mistrust of computers in both our personal lives and the greater society we live in is inescapable. This publishing season is flush with books raising alarms about digital technology’s pernicious effects on our lives: what smartphones are doing to our children; how Facebook and Twitter are eroding our democratic institutions; and the economic effects of tech monopolies.

I think phones and social media are pretty good examples of were technology is imposing to much of people lives. Many people use their phone for work, internet, camera, texting and all sorts of different stuff. People cling to their phones way to much. I even know I guy that gets super anxious almost like he suffering from withdrawals if we're camping for a day in a place with no service. My wife would probably be the same way if she would come on a camping trip in the back country.

With social media I know some people that go on facebook way to much and I'm sure they are addicted to it. Personally I barely use Facebook anymore, it's cool to talk to old friends and see what they are up to but it's always depressing to see photos of people going to cool trips, doing fun things and you are stuck at work so that's why I use my facebook once of month and don't get caught up in all that mess. It's also nice to actually talk to friends and family you haven't seen in months and have no clue what they've been up to because you're not seeing all their post and trip photos on facebook.

As for the article, It's nice to know that people are more and more interested in old technology. You know it's not common for newer technology to last more than 5 or 10 years. There's value in something old that lasts and is easy fix and if I had to guess I bet there will be more working record players 20 years from now than all the iPods, iPhones and iPads we have now.

Source: https://www.nytimes.com/2017/11/18/opinion/sunday/internet-digital-technology-return-to-analog.html

Sort:  

True- but still I would never want to give up my phone. It's feels real safe to have a phone with me in the car, driving around, on road trips, or when I'm in remote places. I Kept it by my side (albeit turned off) when I was injured & bedridden. When I hobbled to the bath room- kept it with me too- in case I had to make a call to someone "Help I've fallen & I can't get up!)

You know, I have to agree with your post. Technology, social media, iPhones are all infilitrating and taking over our lives. Kids born today, kids born 8 years ago, don’t know how to carry on pleasant small talk, are uncomfortable being verbal and it’s creating a non social society. Haha, I’m thankful all the time that I was born in the 80s and technology came about as an option not as the only way.

Yup, I feel bad for kids that can't talk to grown ups because they are going to have quite a shock when they are looking for a job in the real world.

Unless the people hiring, in the real world, prefer non verbal, hyper texting and what is it called… twatting? Haha.

totally agree with you I don't use that often because it makes me feel like I am addicted to it so every once a month I check my friends and hows it going with them I am not even social guy so these all make sense :p.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83