Sort:  

I prefer to run Fedora myself since I use RHEL/Centos a lot in business. That said, for those just getting into Linux Ubuntu is by far the best starter OS because of their phenomenal community support. Most everything you find online is debian/ubuntu based for installation scripts and the like and a great option if you can do it. For my Mother-in-law I went ahead and put this on her PC as all she does is browse the web and basic document edits where open office / libre office work just fine.

However, Windows 10 still is required for most of the proprietary programs out there. I have to always have access to it for things like RSAT(Remove Server Admin tools) and a variety of other software for business. Gaming has made leaps and bounds this year with Steam launching proton in beta just this month and a lot more compatibility heading to Linux. Lutris is also another viable alternative with pre-built installation scripts for the average Linux user. I'll be making some videos/blog posts on this in the future.

I always advocate people use Linux when you can, and hopefully, pretty soon everyone will be on it. Till then, I have to deal with a headache which is windows 10 and it's nightmarish update policies that kick my ass at work day in and day out.

I don't like ubuntu due to one fact, when I had GT450 NVIDIA, when I installed the "official" driver, the non-canonical, videos framed alot, when I vent to canonical driver open source, it didn't frame.

That's the one sideeffect.

In my comparition windows 7 > win 10

Google chrome os > win
Ubuntu > all

I'm selling my acer chromebook 14, want to upgrade to ubuntu, because I started to code.

Already ditched twitter, instagram, gonna ditch facebook and google itself.

today I moved to duckduckgo from google search.

and gonna move from android phone to nokia 105 for 20€

AMD is making some strides and just this year moved their entire GPU driver for new cards to open source. Its pushing for Vulkan support and is really pushing linux support where nVidia is falling behind. I'd recommend grabbing a RX 580 8GB card used for less than $200 now that the miners are dumping them on the open market. It would spank the Gt450 and will have better support than nVidia if things keep going the way they are.

I gave my old pc to a friend since I bought acer chromebook 14 past year, now I want to sell it. and buy some other cheap laptop just to code on ubuntu... or codeanywhere website.

I used to be a good software troubleshooter, but after some years I got bored. went to novel writing.... and etc... now back at coding.... todays is like 5 day me coding I'm at very beginning.

I kind a understand it while it is not complicated......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98