10 Brand New Programs That I Coded In Java/Processing

in #technology7 years ago

Hello, everyone! Today I would like to share ten more little programs that I coded in Java using Processing as programming tool. I will briefly describe the main ideas/concepts behind these programs and highlight their visual appearance by putting one screenshot for each of them. Last but not least, prior to coding some of them, I also watched some rather useful tutorials.

Without further ado, here they are:

1. Mixed rectangle-ellipse animation (version 1)


This animation revolves around the principle of recursion in programming, drawing a table of rectangles and ellipses using a loop. This is the first version of this animation that I made. The idea is that the objects within this animation change colours as each second passes by using the random() and frameRate() functions.

Animation 20.jpg

2. Mixed rectangle-ellipse animation (version 2)


Basically same as above, though with some minor other adjustments in terms of visual quality.

Animation 21.jpg

3. Abstract art animation


This the screenshot of a finalized abstract art animation that I coded a while ago and adjusted it subsequently last week.

Animation 18.jpg

4. Another abstract art animation


I used only 13 lines of code or so in order to make this. It's some sort of electric blue. :)

Animation 19.jpg

5. Snowstorm


In this program I tried to simulate some random snowflakes from a snowstorm. Here's the result:

Snowstorm.jpg

6. A car race simulation


Here I tried to make a car race simulation between a Porsche, a Ford, and a BMW. In the end, the Porsche is the car that wins the race. ;)

Car race.jpg

7. A dark void-like soundwave


I programmed this animation using, most notably, the noise() function. Here you can see the final result:

Dark void.jpg

8. Ocean waves


Now here I tried to simulate some ocean waves using the same function and programming principles as above, highlighting two levels of water, shallow and deep. Take a look:

Ocean waves.png

9. Sierpinski's carpet (noSmooth)


Here's my take on Sierpinski's carpet with noSmooth for the geometry of the rectangles.

Sierpinski's carpet (noSmooth).jpg

10. Sierpinski's carpet (Smooth)


And here's the smoothed version of Sierpinski's carpet.

Sierpinski's_carpet (Smooth).jpg

I truly hope you have enjoyed taking a short look at these screenshots and I would be also very pleased to have a read at your thought on them in the comments section below. Thank you!

Sort:  

Hehe cool stuff.
Do you do that for learning purposes?
If yes you could try to programm a pacman game.

Its harder then you think, but possible with a little effort and research!

Thank you for the positive feedback. I have programmed this in my spare time but I also do it for learning purposes such as preparation for upcoming university exams. Practice is the key to mastering anything. On the pacman game, I don't think it would be that difficult for me to program that, it would only take more time than I would initially expect I think. It depends...

Anyway, I've already programmed a pong game so I believe I'm a bit experienced and I could take on this challenge sometime in the future as well. :)

Hehe mastering the pacman game can be easy and difficult. Its easy to set up the enviroment but when the ghosts come into play it can get pretty hard.
http://gameinternals.com/post/2072558330/understanding-pac-man-ghost-behavior

Ah, I see what you mean now. Indeed, designing the environment using object-oriented programming might not be that difficult, but when it comes to the ghosts then it gets really tricky.

I briefly took a look at the link above and it seems like a very interesting resource indeed. I will surely thoroughly read it when I'll have some more free time and, why not, start then coding a pacman game of my own. Many thanks for this once again. :)

This is awesome dude! That dark void is some scary shit.

Ha, thank you very much! :)

Wow amazing
Execellent work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78