www.Hivemind.progress? Using Social Networks Wisely Is Going To Take a Great Deal of Care and Caution.

in #technology5 years ago (edited)

Ever since I heard that one of the new technology layers for Steem is called 'hivemind', I have had a nagging issue in the back of my mind. Hive minds are, to me, not a good thing - exactly. Today, I found a new video that connects social networks to hive minds - nothing to do with Steem specifically - it's worth a watch.

The essence of a hivemind is that multiple minds are merged into a collective mind that functions as a singular entity. To some extent, 'society' does this already - however, I have to point out that during a process of 15+ years of healing on all levels, I have found that a great deal of what I needed to do was to break free of collective programming and false beliefs 'gifted' to me by 'the group mind'. It is absolutely essential that any benefits of increased connectivity do not come at the cost of the individual thinker's ability to remain free.

Ideally, any technology should enhance freedom, not limit it.

As I understand it, 'hivemind' for Steem is a technology that makes Steem itself more efficient on the data level and is not specifically something that alters human thinking in the kind of way that a real human hivemind would do - so I am not saying that Steem's 'hivemind' is a threat to freedom.. If anything, I am just saying that naming it 'hivemind' is not the best PR move someone could make on a social network that is countering threats to humanity on other levels, such as privacy, censorship and financial control.

The topic of social control via technology is one that I have covered before and I will not go into full depth here, I will just remind you that for me the solution to this requires us to be individually empowered and to live from the heart, instead of being run by our own beliefs and mentality - as if intellect is all there is in life!

One thing that stands out to me from the following video is that of the way that feedback loops are operated to control the group narratives around life and that anyone who can harness software systems that can shape thinking and 'popularity' within human consciousness, has potential to do a great deal of damage to free will. It might be attractive to particularly arrogant thinkers to determine that they alone have the 'best' way of thinking and that controlling others is 'for their own good' - but I know for 100% certain that homogeneous drones and cyborg humans will never bring the light and expansion that we need.. The chances are that without free will and freedom even to make mistakes, we will not survive long!

What do you think of this video?

Wishing you well,
Ura Soul


I am currently among the top 100 in the Steem User Authority Table

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness

View My Witness Application Here


(Witnesses are the computer servers that run the Steem Blockchain.
Without witnesses there is no Steem, Steemit, DTube, Utopian or
Busy... You can really help Steem by making your 30 witness votes count!)


steem ocean - diving deep into the blockchain

Find out your voter rank position at steemocean.com!


tribesteemup-orange-banner.png


ureka.org

I run a social network too!

Sort:  

I'm glad you posted this @ura-soul This was an illuminating video to watch. The real question is, how many people are aware? Videos like this will reach those with a naturally curious and independent mind.

I saw an example of this when I was in Germany. A student expressed what he didn't realize would be an unpopular opinion. The backlash was instantaneous. Along with that, the "proper" opinion was offered. What shocked me was how quickly the guy changed his statement to match the group.

Of course I spoke up...

I asked him why he didn't stick to his guns. Why cave so easily? He said he'd remembered that this was the way he always thought and the class just reminded him.

I'm not surprised the internet and technology are doing exactly what they were intended to do. From smart speakers (listeners) to the groupthink of social media, the hivemind is already here.

Posted using Partiko Android

fear of being different has deep roots in humanity. many times people have been ostrocised and even murdered just for being different. it's great that you spoke up - it is the lack of self acceptance that causes the fear and anger that has people attacking others for being different and also that has people being silent and forcing themselves into dysfunctional boxes just to conform!

Great video thanks for sharing it.

I also thought..

that naming it 'hivemind' is not the best PR move someone could make on a social network

You can see some of this group think in action right now in the TheMarkyMark -vs- FullTimeGeek battle.

It's daily now that I find myself oscillating between hope and dispare for the future of humankind.

I like to remind people that hope requires despair. heal the despair and you will have no need for hope the cycle it belongs with ;)
<3

Thanks for the wise words but I'm not sure how I can heal my dispair.

What's got me worried is personified in the crap like the above mentioned Marky -vs- Geek battle. I see it all around me in society today, at least here in the U.S.A. I see a lot of this. People who don't even seem to understand what they are fighting about, for or against. They are just being nasty and tearing things apart. When asked why, some are even proudly spouting "Because it's fun".

I understand the Yin and Yang dichotomy.

But I dont think that is what I'm seeing here. I believe this is being caused by the "Divide and Conquer" strategies of the "Bus Drivers" of society and not a natural or spiritual thing.
And they are about to crash the bus with all of us on it.

There is a huge amount of unconsciousness on Earth and it tends to result only in dysfunction. When unconsciousness is involved, the result tends to be that those involved don't even know that they are involved with what they are involved with. On the surface we can see many such examples that people post about regularly on social media - such as pointing out how US and other militaries claim to bring 'freedom' to the world and then just end up enforcing dogma, fake leaders and economic exploitation etc. (repeating what was done to the native americans and others previously). In such cases, there tend to be large numbers of people who support such overpowering and injustice due to them either not being fully honest or just not having asked probing enough questions. There are also, though, often people who see the injustice and speak up about it but who haven't yet learned about their own involvement that they are unconscious of. For example, someone might be totally against the exploitation of other nations but have no issue at all with buying cheap chinese products that are made in slave labour conditions. Or they might be totally against slavery but force themselves to work when they don't want to and need to really be doing something else. It's a big topic, but I just want to highlight that we can generally find a way that we ourselves are involved in such dysfunction and can work to heal that - which DOES make a difference in the world.

This method (and others like it) cumulatively work to end despair, since the more we heal our own issues (many of which we don't even recognise yet), the more we understand about others and life. As we learn more we can see more clearly how to help others in real and practical ways and despair can shift into more productive states of being. Personally, I might sometimes dip into despair for a few moments, but I will then go through my own processes to bring me back to greater balance. I tend to move into a state of 'longing' for improvements and that then leads me on to taking steps that can actually create those improvements. Ultimately this is a process of self empowerment that stops the state of other people from harming our own state of being.

You are absolutely right that a great deal of the dysfunction on Earth is heartless and will indeed believe that it's 'fun' to fight and create discord and this is another reflection of how much needs to heal.

I also use bus analogies for this kind of thing. I realised a long time ago that humanity is collectively driving it's bus off a cliff and that most of the passengers are asleep. When you wake up in that situation and the driver won't listen, the only option is to jump off, but not before doing as much as possible to wake up the others!

Thanks for all that. It is taken to heart.
I'm trying to be a lot more conscious about the thoughts that run through my head.
One thing that helps me a lot is all my animals. Lately the puppies. It's hard to be unhappy when you have 6 super cute puppies crawling all over you.

IMG_20190217_184112.jpg

We just had 8 ducks hatch out too. Check out my LiveCam when you get a chance.

I consciously try buy local whenever I can. Unfortunately Amazon has made that hard to do now as they have put a bunch of the small locals out of business. My favorite computer hole-in-the-wall of 20 years shutdown 2 years ago. Now if I need anything computer related it's a 200+ mile round trip and 4 hours without traffic. And it's still a large chain store, Frys Electronics.

I watched your remote viewing 911 video (Me:911WasAnInsideJob) the other day. I've been interested in RV for some time now. I know there's more to this "reality" than generally accepted as I have personally had experiences that go beyond the "normal". The video was very interesting but I'm so sceptical of everything anymore it's hard to "trust" anyone or anything.

Which brings me to Steven Greer. Im not saying the things he's talking about aren't real. I don't remember what it was but HE tripped my B.S. meter a while back.

Keep it up and I'll talk to you later.

Actually i have heard about this hivemind but i am still yet to check into details what it is all about

Hi @ura-soul!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.937 which ranks you at #94 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 206 contributions, your post is ranked at #79.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60791.78
ETH 2917.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34