You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dawn of a new age: Autonomous Vehicles

in #technology8 years ago

Be careful what you ask for. Technology is a great benefit, but it has challenges and takes time to be refined. Take you PC for example. For decades systems were plagued with errors, faults, and issues. Remember the BSOD (Blue Screen of Death). Most of the time those problems could be resolved with a quick reboot and perhaps having to redo something in an application which was lost.

Now you want to have technology operate the acceleration, braking, turning, and safety of your vehicle? If something goes wrong, the consequence is not a reboot, it is a collision! Are people truly ready to hand over their lives to unproven technology? It seems a little rash. Perhaps we should move more slowly and be sure it will not be hazardous to our health.

Sort:  

I agree with you ultimus! I think a discussion needs to be had and to take things more slowly. Ive been a computer programmer since the early 80's and amateur robotics hobbyist. I understand the technology and quite frankly am scared of the reckless pass at which we as a species are progressing. Not to mention I have as a main occupation: professional driver. I will be retired before I loose my job to automation but I fear what the world will be for my children.

I think we will follow the Gartner hype cycle where we are now in the rapid upward climb of excitement, but will fall rapidly once we reach the peak and discover it is not as mature/safe as we thought.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58075.38
ETH 2463.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38