The dvd for data storing is on it's way out

in #technology6 years ago

I have a lot of music dvd's. I've bought dozens (blu ray too) - mostly music concerts and a few favorite movies. I also have dozens of concerts that I store on dvd.

But today I have a 4 TB hard drive, and dvd's are notoriously unstable. dvd players break every two years and hard drives often last longer (yes, I backup on 3 hard drives).

I recently downloaded some more concerts - Paul McCartney and The Who. I realized - why burn them? Copy to hard drive, and enjoy. I can play them directly from my hard drive, or easily copy to my laptop or USB drive for mobility.

Is the dvd burner dead?

Sort:  

from DVD to Hard drives. it's technological evolution. just like a floppy disk to flash disk and so on. called dead, may be true. which obviously will legend. he will be expensive at some point, when it becomes antiques

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56766.86
ETH 2492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36