The next evolution in US military vehicles

in #technology8 years ago (edited)

The US army has began testing the Colorado ZH2, which is similar to the ZR2 prototype, but instead of an internal combustion engine, it uses a hydrogen fuel cell. This could be an amazing military vehicle, its silent, a smaller heat signature than an internal combustion engine, and it produces water, and even tho I wouldn't drink a lot of it, if I were stuck in a desert without water, its certainly be better than dying of dehydration.


Source

Chevrolet has certainly done it right, great ground clearance, four wheel drive, and room for four. They have also stated the fuel cell will last for 150,000 miles, which isn't bad. There will also be a removable power take off, so you can power equipment away from the truck. I think this will be a great military vehicle, sadly we may not see if on showroom floors for 4 years, if ever, but if they do make this it will be a great truck. I'd certainly buy one!


Source

Being a truck guy, I love hearing news like this. I have always feared that the truck may one day die due to emissions, but this proves we can have a capable truck, that is eco-friendly. There isn't a whole lot of info on the ZH2 as of now, but like the Willys Jeep and Humvee, this may be the next big thing.

Sort:  

Very good post!

Thank you! I love doing posts about cars.

Hope some benevolent soul will give me one for Christmas...

Now that would be an amazing Christmas gift!

Whoa! Very interesting!

I thought so too, when I first read about it, I actually had to look it over twice. This is something you hear about with civics, not trucks. It sounds amazing tho.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41