You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DIY Off Grid PowerWall Update: Used Electric Car Lithium Ion Batteries, Arrived!

in #technology7 years ago

How exciting. I'm following along right with you. I woke up the other day with a thought in my head "batteries equal life". I remembered it, but thought it weird. Maybe it was something I heard in a sci-fy film or something.

Sort:  

Maybe you are supposed to figure out how to have a power reserve. Your life or someone else's life may depend upon it. I remember when my mother was in Hospice care and she had a hospital bed at the house. We had a lightning storm that took out the power for many hours. We found out that her bed was inflatable, and that it had a slow leak that was pumped back up continuously by a pump. Then I began to consider how to use my car as a generator for power.

Now I have a 1400 watt inverter in my Prius and the last time that power went out I had figured out how to let the prius idle with the emergency brake on (so the lights won't come on) so that the car keeps the 12 volt battery powered up. I was able to keep the refrigerator running for three days when we had a flood where I was visiting. It takes strong jumper cables connecting to the battery. We didn't have a way figured out for running the water pump though.

I like backup systems that use batteries as the power store. Where AC gets created constantly from the battery systems. These are called on-line ups.

You are so right. I am working on back ups for my back ups. Living off grid already, I know the importance of this. Especially in the winter, I might be trapped for weeks on end, not able to get off of my property. Haha, it sounds like I live in the Yukon. I'm in KY, but the way my house sits and as far back in the woods as it is, if there is any substantial snowfall or ice, I don't have a vehicle that will make it out till a melt comes. This happened to me a couple times since I'm been here.

I've had times when I've woke up with a person's name in my head that I've never known before. It's very cool. It's a rare opportunity to connect between the conscious and subconscious mind in such a clear way. Well, I guess remembered dreams can be considered such a connection. But I cherish when I can hear such messages as I am waking up.

That would be cool. Back when I had to write college papers, I would wake u with either the opening or closing line from a dead sleep. They were usually pretty good too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58981.94
ETH 3097.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38