FreeCAD the open-source CAD Software

in #technology6 years ago (edited)


Hello everyone, today I´m goint to make a little introduction to FreeCAD, this program save me when I wasn´t able to use Windows on my computer and also I used in one of my classes.
FreeCAD is an open source 3D modeler, design to make objects of different sizes, it is a good option for hobbyist makers, students and teachers that don´t want to worry about license issues. I have used for a while and I think it has the essential tools to model pieces and printed with a 3D printer.
With this softwae you can run robot simulations and automatize it with you python scripts, also it counts with sketcher for 2D drawing.

FreeCAD supports the next standard formats:
STEP
STL
IGES
SVG
DXF
OBJ
IFC
DAE
You can downloaded for Windows, Mac and linux.

https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Download

For linux you can use:

sudo apt-get install freecad

References:

https://www.freecadweb.org/

Sort:  

I've never heard of this. How good is it compared to Blender?

I have never used Blender, but I use Solidworks and it is very similar, Solidworks has more tools, but FreeCAD has the basics. I am going to try blender the next time.

If you make a post comparing all three of them from a hobbyst perspective, I'd certainly read it. I've tried Blender a long time ago, but it was hard.

Sure, I am going to try.

I mean like "eventually", though. No rush. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 59965.71
ETH 3286.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36