HBO Hacked : Ransom Demanded for Sensitive Information about Game of Thrones

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

A recent hack on HBO's sensitive networks allowed hackers to steal personal phone numbers and email addresses for some Game of Thrones actors. After hacking HBO’s systems, they reportedly stole 1.5 terabytes of data.

What did the HBO hackers make out with?

1.) Scripts for upcoming Game of Thrones episodes

2.) Two unreleased episodes of Ballers and Room 104.

3.) Other unknown digital assets.

The Guardian reports that hackers have already managed to release 3.4GB of data, and that they’re demanding that HBO pay an unknown ransom to prevent further leaks.

Here's the video the hackers released

Techblogger Wrap Up

According to further research although HBO was unwilling to pay the $6 million dollars demanded by the hackers it did offer the hackers a good faith payment of $250,000.

I can understand why HBO doesn't want to pay the ransom because firstly it sets a bad precedent and secondly even if they pay the ransom there is still no assurance that the hackers won't release the rest of their payload anyways.

If you were HBO, what would you do? Please leave your thoughts and comments below.

Thanks for reading!

Source:

HBO Asks Hackers for Deadline Extension As It Scrambles to Acquire Bitcoin - Investopedia

Sort:  

They should invite these Hackers to a wedding organized by Lord Frey.
This will even be a good publicity!

Haha sure. The hackers would love it! Or maybe they could visit the whitewalkers at a negotiation table in HBO hq?

Very interesting . Upvoted and resteemed

😲😘😲😲😲

Very interesting . Upvoted and resteemed

i follow you and i upvote to you please upvote to me also @kouba01

Hello my name is Toscani...I just lost my job...i worked really hard as a waiter for like 10 years in a restaurant...worked night after night shifts but still they decide they don't need my services anymore and that they don't have money to pay me so they just kick me out . It was really hard for me to find this job because i don't have much education....i didn't go to college...but i did look for more waiter jobs but i got rejected because i'm too old and they need young people.
The real problem is that i have a debt of 759 $ to my apartment rent and if i don't pay till the end of the month they gonna kick me out from my own home. I don't have friends and my family won't lend me any money...
My only hope now to raise this money is steemit...i like it alot here and the community is very nice...

Please if you would like to help me , a upvote would be awesome and would help me tremendously to raise the money i need.
Thank you very much for your help and i hope you have a great day .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66682.62
ETH 3447.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73