With This Tiny Hand-Held Technology You May Never Need To Learn A New Language!

 Do I speak Tagalog? No! 

I'm I Filipino? Yes, by every means! 

Filipinos in general think this isn't possible. By every means, everyone knows this is very possible! But let's not go into that. 

I was born in Greece and my first language turned out to be Greek. Again, that is not my point! 

How have I coped; living in the Philippines alone and not knowing the language? I doubt that I will ever be able to learn Tagalog. Perhaps, I am too old? 

Philippines has mostly Tagalog everywhere, especially in Manila. But English help matters! Everyone knows some English. The signs are in English! Schools are bound to teach some courses in English. This has made it possible to thrive. 

However, I end up not learning Tagalog. People try to speak English when they meet you speaking English. Some people test their English, when they meet you speak English.

Bottomline, I have not been able to learn Tagalog. I may know up to 200 Tagalog words though but I can't compose sentences. These words come in handy though, when you mixed it with English, you can find your way around. 

It helps if you knew Tagalog. You are more aware of surroundings. It makes you feel safer apart from other basic reasons. Things will be cheaper, if you knew Tagalog. 

There comes days when everything is just haywire. On these days, coincidentally everyone is off on their English and you just get lost but mostly out of frustration. This is when you wish momentarily that you could speak Tagalog.

Language is a major issue in your decision to relocate or visit another nation. In my case, it so is! When I think of dream countries to visit, I would usually put English-speaking countries at the fore. This doesn't necessarily mean that these countries are the best or my favorito but I do want to get in a country, in which I can instantly thrive, at this point in my life!

I use a Filipino passport and it is visa-free to a ton of other Asian countries, but I have never considered visiting any and language barrier is definitely a factor. 

Yes, there is Google translate etc but Google translate doesn't use too much human intelligence and can only come good, in mild conversations. When you have to involve real conversations, with context etc; Google will definitely fail.

Too, if you stopped a stranger to ask directions and you had to get out your smartphone to look for Google; well, who really has that much time for you, in the midst of hustle and bustle!


This tech Asia technology is fixing this in a really interesting and fun way. 
These videos explains the fun technology:




The tiny handheld gadget basically listen to you say something in English and translates it audibly to your listener, then translates their foreign-language-response back to English, audibly for you to listen to and understand and the conversation goes back and forth in this manner. It currently appears to translate English language to Japanese and Chinese languages as seen in the video!

Hopefully, this transcends into every language, then there will be no need to fret about language barrier and perhaps, you wouldn't need to stress about learning a new language, if that is not your thing.

Here is one technology that appears to work translating English to French and vice versa:


Learning a new language is not my thing!


Understanding how language translation really works and imagine future possible translation devices for the future:


Your boy Terry

@surpassinggoogle 

Sort:  

I think this was on Kickstarter. Very cool.

very possible! thank you for dropping by! you can just be another joe! lol

Resteemed as part of my initiative to make "filipino" and "philippines" known or perhaps get a better number of audience :)

yep thank you. you effort will rip dividend in the long run!

Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'll be getting one of these. Looks like the nintendo Wii ish ha!
RESTEEMed ;).PNG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52